Sports

Kevin Willard: Shaheen Holloway would be good coach for Seton Hall

SAN DIEGO — This sure wasn’t a denial.

As rumors swirl about Kevin Willard potentially leaving Seton Hall for Maryland, he didn’t refute them. In fact, after Seton Hall’s season ended in an ugly 69-42 NCAA Tournament loss to TCU at Viejas Arena, Willard gave an endorsement to the man he believes should replace him in South Orange, N.J., if he in fact does leave.

“If I’m not here next year, I’d love if Shaheen Holloway is here,” Willard said. “That would be the happiest thing that ever happened to me.”

Holloway, a former Seton Hall star and assistant coach under Willard, led No. 15 St. Peter’s to a massive upset of second-seeded Kentucky on Thursday night.

As for his own job status, Willard was coy.

“I’ll give you exactly what I can tell you,” he said. “I have an agent who I haven’t talked to yet. I don’t know who he’s talking to, I have absolutely no idea. But when I get home tomorrow, I’ll talk to my agent and discuss things with my agent.”