NFL

Gisele Bündchen is ‘so proud’ of husband Tom Brady on his NFL retirement


Gisele Bündchen congratulated husband Tom Brady on Tuesday after the 44-year-old quarterback announced his retirement after 22 legendary seasons.

The supermodel, 41, who has been married to Brady since 2009, celebrated the greatest of all time in a heartfelt Instagram message.

Gisele Bündchen celebrated husband Tom Brady’s NFL retirement Getty Images for The Met Museum/

“What a ride @tombrady ! So many memories! When I met you over 15 years ago, I didn’t know the first thing about football. But cheering for you and seeing you do what you love most made me learn about this wonderful game to the point that I seriously believed I knew more than the referees! We always had a special champions playlist for every drive on our way to the game. As a family, we always prayed for you, celebrated and supported you in every game, cheered every win and suffered with every loss,” Bündchen wrote.

Brady celebrated his Super Bowl win in Feb. 2021 with Bündchen and his children, sons Jack and Benjamin, and daughter Vivian Instagram

“I’m so proud of you, and of everything you have had to overcome physically and emotionally over the years. I am in awe of your dedication, and of everything you have achieved. You love what you do, and you leave behind a legacy that is a beautiful example for future generations.”

Bündchen went on to call the Brady, who spent the first 20 seasons of his career in New England before departing for Tampa Bay in 2020, the “most dedicated, focused and mentally tough person” she’s ever met.

“You never once complained over the years about all the bruises and aches and pains. You just kept focusing on your goal to go out there and be the best leader there was to all your teammates,” she continued. “I know how excited you are about the next chapter of your life. Watching you work so hard in your football career and seeing the dedication you are now putting into all your new endeavors is incredibly inspiring. There is nothing you can’t achieve. I have always been here for you, you know that, and I’m as excited as you are for what the future holds!

“Words can’t really express how grateful I am to everyone who has been so supportive of my husband and our family for so many years.

Brady thanked Bündchen specifically in Tuesday’s announcement, calling his wife of nearly 13 years the “most loving and supportive” spouse.

The couple has been married since 2009 Instagram

“I always came off the field and home to the most loving and supportive wife who has done EVERYTHING for our family to allow me to focus on my career,” Brady wrote. “Her selflessness allowed me to reach new heights professionally, and I am beyond words what you mean to me and our family.”

Brady also thanked Bündchen in his official retirement announcement Getty Images

Brady and Bündchen are parents to daughter Vivian, 9, and son Benjamin, 12. The quarterback also shares son Jack, 14, with ex Bridget Moynahan. She too congratulated Brady on his prolific career Tuesday.

Leading up to Brady’s official retirement announcement, the seven-time Super Bowl champ expressed how his family was his focus.

“I’m gonna spend some time with them and give them what they need, because they’ve really been giving me what I need the last six months — to do what I need to do and I said this a few years ago. It’s what relationships are all about. It’s not always about what I want. It’s about what we want as a family,” Brady said on his SiriusXM podcast, “Let’s Go!”

“I’m gonna spend a lot of time with them and figure out in the future what’s next.”