NFL

Joe Schoen didn’t complain about Giants booking him middle seat: ‘I like him already’

The Giants wanted to make a move for Joe Schoen, and there was no time to waste. They booked a flight for him from Buffalo to Newark, N.J., and, well, as anyone who waits until the last minute to make travel arrangements knows, you get what you get and you don’t get upset.

“Unfortunately the only thing available was a middle seat in the rear of the plane next to the restroom,’’ Giants co-owner John Mara said Wednesday, the day the team introduced Schoen as its new general manager.

And?

“He never complained a bit about it, so I like him already,’’Mara said.

No, Schoen did not complain, perhaps because he was forewarned.

“Did he say that?’’ Schoen said, smiling. “I probably shouldn’t tell you this but this is when I knew I liked John.’’

Giants Joe Schoen
New Giants general manager Joe Schoen (l.) shakes hands with co-owner John Mara (r.) during Schoen’s introductory press conference on Jan. 26, 2022. Charles Wenzelberg/New York Post

Schoen was the assistant general manager for the Bills the past four years and the team owners, Terry and Kim Pegula, made their private jet available to the front office. So, Schoen and his boss, general manager Brandon Beane, could be in the office and work all week then use the Pegula’s private jet to fly to two college games at the end of the week then meet up with the team wherever it was playing that weekend.

Giants Joe Schoen
Giants general manager Joe Schoen (l.) and co-owner John Mara (r.) after Wednesday’s press conference. Charles Wenzelberg/New York Post

Schoen does not have this arrangement with the Giants.

“John told me, ‘Our private jet around here is called JetBlue,’ ’’ Schoen said. “So I laughed.’’

Co-owner Steve Tisch does have a private plane, but it was not available for Schoen to use earlier in the week. Hence, a middle seat for the new general manager. And no complaints.

“That’s not me,’’ Schoen said. “I roll up my sleeves, put me wherever you want to put me, I’m going to interview for the New York Giants, I’ll ride on the wing if you need me to. I didn’t care where they put me, that’s not me, I’ll sit wherever.’’