Jennifer Gould

Jennifer Gould

Real Estate

‘MDLNY’ star Fredrik Eklund quits show after a decade on Bravo

He’s high-kicking his way outta here.

Douglas Elliman’s Fredrik Eklund is officially leaving Bravo’s “Million Dollar Listing New York” and its Los Angeles spin-off.

Eklund helped launch the franchise with its New York debut in 2012.

But the fabulous broker, known for creating tons of real estate TV drama with competing brokers Ryan Serhant and Luis Ortiz, announced his departure in a lengthy post on Instagram late last night.

“After an amazing 11 years, I’ve decided it’s time for the next chapter in my life, and to leave Million Dollar Listing. It’s an end of an era and a new start for me,” Eklund wrote. “All of my most memorable milestones from the last decade I shared with all of you: meeting Derek, our wedding, the miscarriages, the birth of our twins, and all the beautiful properties. I will always cherish that shared experience.”

Eklund kicked off the show in 2012.
Eklund kicked off the show in 2012. NBCU Photo Bank/NBCUniversal via

He said the show has been “like elevated therapy to film and then watch my crazy self (the good, the bad, the ugly). I got to be myself even when it was difficult.”

Eklund credited the show with giving him “superpowers and became the engine in building what has become the nation’s largest and most prolific team that reached $4.5 billion in 2021. I have the show to thank for a lot of it.”  

When reached by Gimme, he merely added, “I think I said it all in my post.”

We wish him luck on his next chapter, but can’t imagine him away from the screen for too long.