NFL

Tom Brady on Nick Foles handshake snub: ‘I try to be a good sport’

Tom Brady addressed his infamous Super Bowl snub of Nick Foles.

With Brady and the Buccaneers set to play host to the Eagles in a first-round playoff game on Sunday, the Tampa Bay quarterback was asked if he was aware Philly fans are still up in arms over him not shaking Nick Foles’ hand after the Eagles won Super Bowl 52 in 2018.

“No, I’m not,” Brady said. “I’ve shaken Nick’s hands plenty of times, though. I have a lot of respect for Nick, and I try to be a good sport as best I can. I know it doesn’t always look like that, because sometimes I get a little pissed out there, but for the most part I try to be a good sport.”

Brady also neglected to shake Foles’ hand last season after the Bears defeated the Bucs, in an infamous game in which Brady appeared to forget the downs.

Brady had a bizarre explanation at the time.

“I didn’t even think about that,” Brady said to NBC Sports Boston. “I think Nick Foles is a hell of a player and a Super Bowl champ. I don’t know one reason or another why I wouldn’t do that. Sometimes I run off the field, sometimes I haven’t. Sometimes if I have a personal relationship like I have with [Saints quarterback] Drew [Brees] and Justin and Aaron over the years — I don’t know, I don’t think it’s anything in particular other than I have great admiration for Nick and I think he’s a hell of a player. [The Bears] are off to a great start.”

For his part, Foles shrugged the so-called snubs off.

Tom Brady and Nick Foles shake hands at Super Bowl 52 media event.
Tom Brady and Nick Foles shake hands at Super Bowl 52 media event. Getty Images
Tom Brady and Nick Foles shake hands at 2018 preseason game. Getty Images

“I’m sure that some day, Tom and I will have a great conversation about it and probably just laugh at it,” he told 670 The Score. “There’s obviously history there from a big game we both played in once, and then Thursday night. It is what it is. I think he’s a tremendous player. Some day, we’ll have a good conversation.”