NFL

Trevor Lawrence delivers strong message to Jaguars amid James Robinson drama

Jaguars quarterback Trevor Lawrence put his foot down about the recent benching of James Robinson while discussing the matter with the coaching staff.

He said Wednesday he made it known that Robinson has “got to be in the game,” after the running back was benched twice for fumbling in losses to the Falcons on Nov. 28 and then the Rams on Sunday.

“In my eyes, obviously, I’m the one that’s out, see all the pieces moving, I see the whole picture. Bottom line is James is one of our best players and he’s got to be on the field and we addressed it, and I feel like we’re in a good spot and the whole team, we’re good,” Lawrence said.

“Whatever may have happened, I honestly don’t even know everything that went into it. I’m playing the game and stuff happens on the sideline with coaching decisions. I don’t really get into that, but I know and I voiced my opinion: James is one of our best players and he’s got to be in the game. I think we’re all on the same page, so there’s no confusion there. We’re going to move forward. I know James is a hell of a player, so I want him out there.”

Lawrence’s response made it seem as though he’s not satisfied with Meyer’s handling of the situation.

After Jacksonville’s 37-7 loss the Rams — where Robinson sat out three series, (20 snaps) — Meyer said the back’s usage was related to his heel and knee issues he suffered against Seattle on Oct. 31.

The first-year head coach noted that running backs coach Bernie Parmalee is responsible for Robinson’s usage and claimed he wasn’t aware of the gaps in Robinson’s playing time. He also said he “doesn’t micromanage position coaches,” though he plans to be more involved in how the running backs are rotated.

Trevor Lawrence James Robinson Jaguars
Trevor Lawrence (r.) hands the ball off to James Robinson (l.) during a Jaguars game against the Falcons on Nov. 28, 2021. Getty Images

“You bench yourself,” Meyer said. “If you lay the ball on the ground and you come out for a few plays, and then it’s up to the position coach and whatever to put you back in whenever that’s time. And that’s not [just] James. That’s whomever. When the ball goes on the ground, you come [out].”

Robinson, who started the game, came out after a fumble to L.A.’s Aaron Donald, and got two of his eight carries in the final two minutes of garbage time as the Jags trailed by 30.

He expressed his frustration about the benching in a Monday interview.

Jaguars Urban Meyer James Robinson
James Robinson (l.) talks with Jaguars coach Urban Meyer before playing the Falcons on Nov. 28, 2021. AP

“Obviously, like I said last week, I mean, that [fumbles] can’t happen. When it happens and you’re out for that long, you gotta feel that way. I was just waiting my chance to get back in the game, didn’t really come until the third quarter,” Robinson said on Action Sports Jacksonville’s “Jags Report Live” when asked whether he believes he was benched.

“At the point, toward the end of the game, I wasn’t even looking at the clock. Probably should’ve been just resting. I’m not sure what the point of that was.”

The second-year player has rushed for 678 yards and seven touchdowns. and is averaging 4.9 yards per carry this season.

The Jaguars (2-10) visit the Titans (8-4) on Sunday.