Lifestyle

Great White shark in Mexico is the spitting image of ‘Jaws’ poster

We’re all gonna have to get a bigger boat.

Eerie photos have surfaced on the Be A Shark Adventure Travel Instagram account, founded by Nikki Brant Sevy and Euan Rannachan, of a huge Great White shark mimicking the terrifying “Jaws” poster.

Taken off the coast of Guadalupe Island, Mexico, the 13-foot shark named “Nicole” is jettisoning toward the surface of the water — jaws open and poised to strike.

“Guadalupe Island has over 400 individually identified white sharks, and I’ve been lucky enough to photograph over two-hundred of them,” Sevy told The Sun.

“When sharks are serious about getting a hang bait they often make a fast vertical approach from the depths. I saw Nicole approaching from below and was able to visually track her as she instigated her approach.

“She rose up directly in front of me and I knew I had the chance at a Jaws movie poster shot.

“There were a lot of mackerel around that day, and I was worried they ruined the photo by getting between me and Nicole, or that they pulled focus from her.

A movie poster for Steven Spielberg’s famous “Jaws” flick in 1975.
Nikki Brant Sevy said she “knew I had the chance at a Jaws movie poster shot,” while diving underwater. Universal Pictures
A movie poster for Steven Spielberg’s famous “Jaws” flick in 1975.
A movie poster for Steven Spielberg’s famous “Jaws” flick that bit big in theaters in 1975. Universal Pictures

“Checking your photos underwater is difficult, though, so I crossed my fingers and went back to photographing Nicole for another hour.

“It wasn’t until the trip was over that I downloaded my images and realized I got the shot.”