NFL

Giants’ other coordinators know jobs ‘always on notice’

The two remaining coordinators on the Giants don’t believe the firing of offensive coordinator Jason Garrett this week puts them on alert for a similar fate. 

That’s because defensive coordinator Patrick Graham and special teams coordinator Thomas McGaughey already felt that way about their positions under second-year head coach Joe Judge. 

“We’re always on notice. I mean, this is the New York Giants. You’re always on notice,” McGaughey said before practice on Friday. “Were in a high-performance business. So when you don’t perform at a high level, that’s just the way it is. That’s the reality of it. That’s players and coaches. We’re in a high-performance business. We know that walking in the door.” 

Graham’s defense ranks 26th in the NFL in yards allowed (375.4 per game) and the Giants rank 24th in points allowed (24.6 ppg) after finishing last season ranked 12th and 10th in those categories, respectively. The Giants are 3-7 entering Sunday’s game against the Eagles. 

Coordinators Patrick Graham (left) and Thomas McGaughey (right) know their jobs are always under scrutiny.
Coordinators Patrick Graham (left) and Thomas McGaughey (right) know their jobs are always under scrutiny. Robert Sabo, Corey Sipkin

“I don’t know about a message. I just know this, and it’s been laid out since I’ve been coaching football, period. We get judged based on how our guys play, so we have to do a good job there,” Graham said. “We all know what we signed up for. This is a business, and every day I come in thinking, ‘Hey, you could be fired.’ 

“That’s just part of it. I’ve always thought that way. … It’s just the nature of the business, especially at this level. That’s how I can operate on my day-to-day. I’m accountable and I have to do my job.” 

The Giants’ defense forced Tom Brady and the Buccaneers into settling for three field goals but also was burned for three touchdowns in Monday’s 30-10 loss in Tampa. 

“I’m responsible for the defense and to do a good job. Obviously last week we didn’t do a good enough job. And hopefully this week we’ll do a better job and compete and go out there and give us a chance to win,” Graham said. “But the message, I don’t think it changes for me personally, because I’ve always been like that. 

“I’d assume for you guys [in the media], too, in New York City, it’s different. It’s higher stakes. That’s just how it is. We sign up for that because there’s good and bad. If you like living on the edge a little bit, you like it.” 

McGaughey revealed there is a sign posted upon entering the practice facility that simply reads “Do Your Job,” and it is understood that changes occur when that task — and winning — are not achieved. 

“Unfortunately, that’s football. That’s part of it,” McGaughey said. “We all have jobs to do. My main focus is worrying about my lane. I stay right in my lane. I coach kickers and punters and kickoff team and punt team. 

“I don’t worry about the other phases. I just focus on my job. My job is to help the other phases. I cheer them on as much as I can and make sure I focus on my job.”