US News

Ex of man killed by Kyle Rittenhouse says she’d tell the shooter he’s ‘a coward’

KENOSHA, WI – The ex-girlfriend of the second man killed by Kyle Rittenhouse called the shooter a “coward” Friday after he was found not guilty on homicide charges.

Emily Petty, 25, sobbed on a park bench across the street from the courthouse and said she’d tell the man who shot her ex Anthony Huber, 26, what she thought of him if she ever had the chance.

“I would say you are a coward,” Petty told The Post. “If you need a gun with that caliber, you’re just a coward. He’s a coward who hid behind a gun and I’m disgusted that he wouldn’t look at the damage that he’s done.

“Clearly he doesn’t have any recollection or care for human life,” said Petty, who was at home when she heard of the verdict. “Personally I hope I never see his face, and I’m so disgusted with Kenosha and the choice that they made.”

She said she hoped Rittenhouse, 18, gets “what’s coming to him.

Anthony Huber was shot and killed last summer. Courtesy of Emily Petty

“He probably will,” Petty said. “What goes around comes around.”

Petty said she and Huber dated for about three years, breaking up just three months before he was killed in August 2020. She said she is forever changed from Huber’s death and the ensuing trial.

Petty added that she hopes to not see Rittenhouse ever again. Stephen Yang

“I’ve gone through enough, and I don’t know how I’m coming back from it,” she said. “I feel personally attacked by this world and this life and universe, and I was just some nobody girl from the county.”

She remembered her boyfriend as an outsized personality, not afraid to “dress funky,” and she believes they may have made a second go of their relationship had Huber not died.

Huber hit Rittenhouse with a skateboard before being shot. Courtesy of Emily Petty

“If Kyle Rittenhouse wasn’t there, this world would be completely different now,” she said. “Who knows? We could have probably mended things because I was trying to keep my best friend even though we weren’t together. I cared about him. I loved him.”

Rittenhouse shot and killed Joseph Rosenbaum with his semi-automatic rifle during anti-police brutality protests in Kenosha. Huber intervened and hit Rittenhouse with a skateboard before Rittenhouse fatally shot Huber.