Entertainment

‘Bones’ and ‘NCIS’ actor Heath Freeman dead at 41

Heath Freeman, best known for playing murderer Howard Epps on the Fox series “Bones,” has died. He was 41.

The actor’s manager Joe Montifiore confirmed his client’s passing Monday. The official cause of death has not been released.

“We are truly devastated at the loss of our beloved Heath Freeman. A brilliant human being with an intense and soulful spirit, he leaves us with an indelible imprint in our hearts,” Montifiore said in a statement obtained by People. “His life was filled with deep loyalty, affection, and generosity toward his family and friends, and an extraordinary zest for life.”

Heath Freeman as serial killer Howard Epps in “Bones.” Fox
Actor Heath Freeman died on Monday at the age of 41 from an undisclosed cause. WireImage

The statement continued, “He was extremely proud of his recent film work and was very excited for the next chapter of his career.”

“His remarkable legacy as a son, brother, uncle, friend, extraordinarily gifted actor and producer, consummate cook, and man with the most infectious and spectacular laugh, will live on forever,” Montifiore concluded. “May his memory be a blessing to all who knew and loved him.”

Freeman’s other acting credits include guest spots on “ER,” “NCIS,” “Raising the Bar” and “Without a Trace.”

His friends took to social media to mourn his loss and posted heartwarming tributes to the star.

Actress Gina Carano shared a moving post about Freeman. Alongside a slew of throwback shots of the two, the “Mandalorian” star wrote, “

This is hard to write … I was just giving you a big wrap party hug a week ago. I wanted to keep you for a lifetime and now I am going to carry you for a lifetime in my heart. I didn’t know our journey would be cut this short and my heart is shattering. I wanted so much more time to laugh, cry, create, live, love with your friendship.”

Carano, 39, continued, “Heath truly was so special, so fierce and precious, protective gentle and brave. He made me feel safe. He took care of everyone around him. I am so blessed to know him for the time I did. Rest In Peace Heath Freeman … my sweet, passionate friend. I’ll be missing you and praying for your loved ones.”

Daniel Day-Lewis’ son Gabriel-Kane Day-Lewis’ post read, “It shatters my heart to write this. last night the man I got to know as my older set brother tragically passed away in his sleep.”

‘General Hospital’ actress Kelly Monaco and Freeman briefly dated and remained friends. Last year, in celebration of Monaco’s birthday, he shared a sweet image of the two captioned: “Happy birthday to my best friend on Planet Earth. So thrilled we’re on the planet at the same time.” Christopher Polk

The 26-year-old actor-model continued, “There is nothing that i could say which could ever possibly do your existence justice, Heath. We formed such a strong bond from the start, and you became a mentor to me. watching you work was such a privilege. your charisma, your talent, your humor, your passion and your red hot Irish temper will be dearly missed. i’m so sorry you won’t be here to see what we made together. i’ll miss laughing with you my brother aka ‘Gold Heath.’ Rest easy.”

Both Carano and Gabriel-Kane worked with Freeman on their upcoming film “Terror on the Prairie.”

Friends are also rallying around Freeman’s ex-girlfriend Kelly Monaco. The ‘General Hospital’ actress and winner of the inaugural season of ‘Dancing with the Stars’ dated the actor briefly from 2010 and 2014. Actor Ingo Rademacher, whom recently left GH, shared a heartfelt post in support of his friend. “Kelly, my heart goes out to you,” he wrote on his Instagram stories. “I know Heath was very special to you. Know that Ehiku and I are always here for you. RIP Heath Freeman. Prayers and love.”

Former Miss USA Shanna Moakler, 46, posted her own tribute: “Heartbroken to hear of the loss of my dear friend Heath Freeman, talented actor, director, producer, outstanding chef and a solid friend. You will be so dearly missed and I will cherish every amazing memory we all had … and we have a lot of great ones!! Godspeed. ❤️⚓️😓 #ataloss.”