Lifestyle

My co-worker stinks — should I say something to her?

We’ve returned to the office and my colleague who sits next to me has an unpleasant odor. I don’t recall this from working with her before. Should I say something to her?

Well, there is one benefit to social distancing! But I’m assuming 6 feet apart isn’t enough to diffuse the odor, correct? Sounds like you’ve been in extended isolation and I’m not sure if that’s made your olfactory senses wonky but I presume that there is some offensive body odor emanating from your colleague. Have other people commented on it to you? Is it offensive or an overpowering fragrance? If it’s a body odor, most people assume that it is a hygiene issue which could be related to poor self care or cultural differences. However, sometimes the problem is due to a medical condition and not within the person’s control. Unless the two of you are close friends, this is a highly delicate conversation best left to the boss or HR to handle.

Group of business people in lift, close-up
A fellow employee could have a foul stench from fragrance or poor hygiene. Getty Images

I keep hearing that we are in a “Great Resignation” with more people quitting jobs than ever before. I’m unhappy in my job and while I can afford to be out of work for a period of time I’m concerned about leaving without having something to go to. I also work long hours so it is hard to devote time to looking for a new job. Any advice?

The media loves to coin catchy phrases to simplify complex movements and trends. The fact that more people are resigning at faster rates than before is a function of many factors, not the least of which is the existential pandemic experience we’ve all been through, causing many people to reevaluate their careers and lives. But don’t follow the herd — your circumstances and career goals are unique to you. One thing that is universal is that it’s always harder to find a job when you are out of work than when you have a job. Call it an unconscious bias but many employers love poaching talent from another company. Also, it almost always takes longer to find a job when you don’t have one than you think. So, my advice is to resist the headlines that imply you can jump without a parachute, and find the time to search while you are employed.

A businessman with a foul odor seen affecting his co-workers.
A businessman with a foul odor seen affecting his co-workers. Getty Images

Gregory Giangrande has over 25 years of experience as a chief human resources executive. Hear Greg Weds. at 9:35 a.m. on iHeartRadio 710 WOR with Len Berman and Michael Riedel. E-mail: GoToGreg@NYPost.com. Follow: GoToGreg.com and on Twitter: @greggiangrande