NBA

Kemba Walker: I need to do better leading the Knicks

MILWAUKEE — Kemba Walker was extolling the defensive virtues of Bucks point guard Jrue Holiday when RJ Barrett strolled over, put his arm around the Knicks point guard and said, “He can’t guard Kemba though.”

Walker and the reporters laughed. A national TV audience will find out Friday at Fiserv Forum when the Knicks take on the defending NBA champion Bucks. Holiday is expected to make his return from a five-game absence from a sprained ankle.

“Jrue, I’ve been playing against Jrue for years, since high school,’’ Walker said after the morning shootaround Friday at the arena. “He’s a great defensive player. I don’t feed into that type of (Barrett) stuff. We all know how good a defensive player he is. It’s always going to be a challenge, especially because he’s a lot bigger than me.’’

Coming off his worst performance as a Knick in a 111-98 loss in Indianapolis, Walker has something to prove. He didn’t guard or shoot well. Point guard Malcom Brogdon had a 17-point night for the Pacers, while Walker was 2-of-11 from the field, 0-for-5 from 3-point range, for 4 points.

“I just had a tough night shooting the basketball,’’ Walker said. “It happens I just struggled, just struggled.”

The Pacers jumped out 11-0 and led 36-22 after one quarter.

“That’s who I am. I have to set the tone early on,’’ Walker said. “I have to get my guys going. I take ownership of that. That’s who I can be. I have to do a better job at that. I have to be ready to start the game better.’’

Knicks
Kemba Walker NBAE via Getty Images

Through eight games, Walker is averaging 13.4 points and shooting 45.8 percent – 51 percent from 3. But he doesn’t seem the same player in exploding to the rim so when his 3-point shot is off, he could be a liability. The Knicks play their first back-to-back set Sunday vs. Cleveland and Monday in Philly. It’s up in the air if Walker will do both because of his arthritic left knee. 

Knicks quasI-captain Julius Randle said after the Pacers’ loss Wednesday night the Knicks “have to get our defense in order.’’ Knicks coach Tom Thibodeau agreed that there’s a defensive drop-off from last season’s record-setting unit.

The concern with the 2021-22 Knicks was that missing Elfrid Payton and Reggie Bullock would hurt their defense with Walker and Evan Fournier in their backcourt spots.

“I think we could be better,’’ Walker said. “It’s about pride and wanting to do it. We have some nights we just haven’t been there together, haven’t been locked in, haven’t been in our spots. We know what we have to do.’’

Walker is known for taking charges – as he did once in Indy – but league scouts say that’s his lone good attribute on the defensive end. He’s not a great help or on-ball defender.

However, even Walker knows he may have to contribute on superstar Giannis Antetokounmpo, who has made a living on slicing up the Knicks in the past.

“As far as Giannis, we need five guys to guard him out there,’’ Walker said. “No one guy can stop him.  take charges from everyone.’’


Center Nerlens Noel, who made his season debut in Indy, reported no soreness in the aftermath. He’s fully healed. Noel revealed what kept him out more in the first seven games was his hamstring – not knee. Noel had a hamstring setback before the preseason opener. Hamstrings are tricky and Noel didn’t want to rush it back after the relapse, even though the Knicks cleared him to play.

“I felt good,’’ Noel said of his 18-minute stint. “A little winded. I felt able to still the waters, play my game and build up my cardio. It’ll be a little process.’’