Entertainment

‘Bridgerton’ scandal? Shonda Rhimes reveals ‘everyone lost their minds’ upon Regé-Jean Page exit

There’s no hard feelings for “Bridgerton” producer Shonda Rhimes and the Netflix period drama’s former star Regé-Jean Page.

When word got out that Page would not be reprising his role as the dashing Duke of Hastings in the show’s second season, fans weren’t happy. However, Rhimes, 51, admitted she’s perfectly fine with the British actor’s decision.

“I don’t think I expected everybody to have such a reaction to it,” the showrunner said in a cover profile for Variety. “My assumption of what people knew of romance novels was … I overestimated a great deal.”

She continued, “People’s attachment to couples is real — I mean, I know that better than anybody. And I think that means success. But I do understand their despair.”

Page’s character was part of the series’ main Season 1 story line where he romanced and married Phoebe Dynevor’s Daphne Bridgerton. His casting turned him into an overnight sensation and the show became one of the most-watched Netflix shows to ever debut.

The “Grey’s Anatomy” creator was then asked if there was a chance that the “Roots” star would return to the show in the future. Rhimes revealed she doesn’t think so.

bridgerton
Phoebe Dynevor starred as Daphne Bridgerton and Page as the Duke of Hastings. AP

“And here’s why,” she explained. “He’s an enormous star now. As I like to say, the idea that we would write Regé to stand around in the background doesn’t make any sense at all to me. ‘What would he do?’ is what I like to say.”

She added that “everybody lost their minds” after Page’s exit and the show even invited him to come back. But Page opted not to return. “Rightfully, he said, ‘I signed up to do this one lovely story, this closed-ended storyline. I’m good!'” she said. “And I don’t blame him for that. I think that he was really smart to leave the perfection as the perfection.”

Season 2 is currently in production and the show was also renewed for Seasons 3 and 4. The upcoming season will follow Lord Anthony Bridgerton (played by Jonathan Bailey) and his romantic relationship with Kate Sharma, portrayed by “Sex Education” actress Simone Ashley.

A source divulged to Page Six in April that Page’s departure was due to “creative differences” with Rhimes and her team.

The insider added, “He wasn’t happy with what was planned for his character for Season 2, which would have kept him a player but not the focal point of the show. Regé has been inundated with offers for other interesting and challenging leading roles.”

Page will next be seen in the Russo brothers’ upcoming action thriller “The Gray Man” and the Paramount film “The Saint.”