NBA

Olivia Harlan expecting baby with Sam Dekker

One of sports media’s royal families will have a new member in 2022.

Olivia Harlan Dekker announced this week that she and husband Sam Dekker, a small forward on the Toronto Raptors who starred on two Wisconsin Badgers Final Four teams, are expecting a baby next May.

Olivia Harlan Dekker, 28, is the daughter of TNT and CBS Sports play-by-play star Kevin Harlan, niece of sports coaching and media agent Bryan Harlan, and granddaughter of Bob Harlan, former CEO of the Green Bay Packers. She currently a broadcaster for BetMGM.

She and Sam Dekker, 27, wed in 2018 in Door County, Wisconsin after being introduced by a mutual friend.

“I was living in Atlanta and covering the NBA, so when I heard he was an NBA player, I said, ‘No way!’” the now-expectant mother told The Knot after their wedding. “My friend gave him my number anyway, and I took my time to respond. Once we started talking, though, I couldn’t deny that she was right.”

Sam Dekker was selected 18th-overall in the 2018 NBA Draft by the Houston Rockets. He also played for the Clippers, Cavaliers and Wizards, subsequently spending two full seasons playing overseas before returning to the NBA this season on a deal with the Raptors.