NFL

Marshawn Lynch drops F-bomb on Mannings’ ‘Monday Night Football’ broadcast

Marshawn Lynch dropping an F-bomb on national TV seemed inevitable.

The colorful former Seahawks running back let one slip during Peyton and Eli Manning’s alternate “Monday Night Football” broadcast of the Seattle Seahawks versus the New Orleans Saints on ESPN2. It came on botched first-quarter snap to Seattle quarterback Geno Smith. He appeared to turn to deliver a handoff without the ball in his hand after Lynch was telling the Seahawks to “protect that ball.”

“Oh, what the f—k, I mean” said Lynch, seemingly confused by what had just happened before realizing his slip.

After Lynch, 35, departed the broadcast, Peyton apologized to the audience for the expletive. On an episode last month, Eli got caught flipping the double bird to Eagles fans.

(Warning: Video contains explicit language)

“We want to apologize for some of the language,” Peyton said. “That’s not what we’re trying to do on this show. I had to remind Eli that this show is live, so Eli’s learned his lesson. Marshawn, I probably should have had a talk with him … keep your hands down below the screen. Anyway, we apologize for that. Anyway, let’s get back to some football here, E.”

Lynch’s appearance also including him talking about doing a shot and half of Hennessey prior to games, Seattle teammates trying to get him Skittles if they were struggling and his famous “earthquake run” in the 2010 NFC Wild Card Game.

NFL
Marshawn Lynch Getty Images

Lynch said he performed his alcohol ritual prior to coming on the air, though it’s unclear whether the comment was made in jest.

“See, ’cuse I ain’t playing I had a three-shot minimum today,” Lynch said after being asked if did anything to warm up for the broadcast. “So I’m feeling real good. I took one for me. I took one for big bro and I got one for little bro.”