NFL

Tom Brady doesn’t sound great ahead of Patriots showdown

Tom Brady may have had one too many interviews hyping up his return to Foxborough.

The Buccaneers quarterback’s voice sounded hoarse and scratchy during his press availability on Thursday — three days before he takes on the Patriots in a highly anticipated Sunday night showdown.

“I was loud today. I’ve had a few of these days, I don’t know what the deal is, so I gotta try and figure this out,” Brady said. “I said my throat is more tired than my arm. Imagine that?”

The 44-year-old has been practicing in full this week after Tampa Bay’s first loss of the season against the Rams on Sunday. ESPN’s Jenna Laine noted that Brady isn’t sick and that the simulated crowd noise was “extra loud and he was shouting over it” on Thursday.

The Week 4 game in New England will be his first against the Patriots after spending 20 years as their quarterback. He led the Buccaneers to a Super Bowl last season in his first year with Tampa Bay.

A reporter pointed out that he dealt with a similar throat affliction this summer.

“Same thing,” Brady said. “It came back. Very strange. I can’t explain it.”