Shopping

YouTuber Elena Taber’s top travel and sustainable products

NYC-based YouTuber Elena Taber, 24, has backpacked the Swiss Alps and slept in tents along the Arabian desert. And, while the full-time creator with almost 625,000 subscribers adores her bouts of whimsical wanderlust, producing vlogs and inside looks of the Big Apple is her digital bread and butter.

“I film a lot of NYC lifestyle videos about what’s happening in the city: my favorite spots, the neighborhood, and even how to save for apartment rent,” Taber told The Post. “I create content all about sustainable living — sustainable fashion, clean beauty — and I loved filming travel content pre-pandemic.”

Born near the Eiffel Tower, Taber moved to California when she was four years old, later embarking on the opposite coast after college.

“My parents were doing nonprofit work abroad where they collaborated with international colleagues, so travel was embedded into my early developmental years,” she said. “Once I was able to take myself to different places, I was like, ‘let’s go.’”

Elena Taber
Pictured: Elena Taber. Photography courtesy of Elena Taber.

As a travel-minded influencer, Taber desires not only venturing to new places but also showing her viewers a taste of NYC they don’t see all too often.

“I have a series called ‘Buzzed In,’ where I go around New York and tour different people’s apartments,” she said. “I also have a series called ‘Beyond Your Block,’ where I work with a local guide to feature off-the-radar cuisines and places, like the African community in Harlem and the Greek community in Astoria.”

Taber says her series allows her to “dive a little deeper,” as she researches and works with locals to take her content to a higher production level. Plus, she shares how to be more sustainable in an urban setting.

“In the world that we live in, there’s so much consumption and waste that’s drastically hurting the environment,” she said. “While it’s not just based on individual action, there are small steps you can take to make a difference. It’s not about going from zero to 100, but more about baby steps in the right direction.”

With travel and sustainability in mind, Taber shared her top products for you to shop. Ahead, browse some of her favorites, including clean beauty must-haves to smart travel items for your tech.


Elena’s Top 5 Favorite Products

Kindle Paperwhite, $129.99

Kindle Paperwhite

“I’ve always enjoyed reading and have fallen in love with my Kindle this past year,” Taber said. “I set a goal to read a book a week, and the Kindle is super lightweight to bring it on the subway, read it online, and download a book right then and there.”


Olympus Mark III Film Camera, $999

Olympus Mark III Camera

“My Olympus film camera goes everywhere with me,” she said. “I absolutely adore film photography because it captures a memory in a distinct way and it forces you to take the photo and then go on and enjoy the moment — and it’s exciting to get the photos back.”


ILIA Multi-Stick Cheek & Lip, $34

ILIA Multi-Stick Cheek & Lip

“I love the ILIA Multi-Stick,” she said. “It’s a sustainable and clean beauty brand and I love multi-use products for simple, natural looks that require minimal effort. I just swipe on my cheeks and lips for a little bit of vitality.”


Sony Alpha A6600 Mirrorless Camera, $1,398

Sony Alpha A6600 Mirrorless Camera

“My Sony A6600 is what I’ve used for two years now,” she said. “It’s the perfect, on-the-go DSLR camera. It’s mirrorless, compact and lightweight for traveling or walking the streets of New York.”


Gorjana Parker Necklace, $65

Gorjana Parker Necklace

“I like the look of chain necklaces, but specifically love Gorjana’s chain necklace because mine has a city charm and a coastal charm,” she said. “They’re the two parts of who I am: a touch of my past home and my current home.”


Elena’s Favorite Travel Products

“For traveling, do your research and play it safe, but don’t let fear stop you,” Taber said. “Solo travel — and any travel, for that matter — is a great experience.”


Solgaard The Horizon Backpack, $225

Solgaard The Horizon Backpack

“It’s the ultimate creator backpack and great for carrying all your gear around,” Taber said. “It has so many compartments and can fit my camera, laptop, two lenses, my gimbal and even my drone. It also distributes weight well, so it’s great for traveling.”


Lo & Sons The Claremont Leather Camera Bag, $368

Lo & Sons The Claremont Leather Camera Bag

“The Lo & Sons Camera Bag looks like a normal purse but inside, there’s a padded spot for your camera and a slot for your memory cards,” she said. “If I want to vlog in the city and I don’t want a masculine backpack to pair with a cute outfit, it’s the bag I bring everywhere.”


Away The Bigger Carry-On, $245

Away The Bigger Carry-On

The Bigger Carry-On suitcase is a classic,” she said. “It can fit in overhead bins, has a nice hard shell and it’s my go-to for traveling.”

Bose Noise-Cancelling Headphones, $379

Bose Noise-Cancelling Headphones

“I got the Bose Noise-Cancelling Headphones as a gift from my friend and I wear them everywhere,” she said. “They’re comfortable and great for editing or blocking out noise on an airplane.”


Osprey Fairview 55 Women’s Trekking Pack, $180

Osprey Fairview 55 Women's Trekking Pack

Osprey’s Trekking Pack has been all over the world with me,” she said. “When I have backpacking excursions or If I’m going somewhere where I don’t want to lug around a bunch of bags, this is my go-to.”


Elena’s Favorite Sustainable Products

“It’s not about perfection, but about baby steps,” Taber said. “Readjusting your perspective can help achieve a more sustainable lifestyle.”


Outdoor Voices Core 3/4 Legging, $88

Outdoor Voices Core 3/4 Legging

“I’m big on exercise and at various boot camps pretty much every morning,” Taber said. “Outdoor Voices’ leggings are super comfortable, a sustainable company and are great for high-impact workouts.”


Reformation Juliette Dress, $218

Reformation Juliette Dress

“Reformation is a great sustainable store and the Juliette Dress is super cute,” she said. “I love their dresses, especially for summer.”


Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30 PA+++, $42

Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum SPF 30 PA+++

“The Supergoop! City Sunscreen Serum is great and the brand has some of the best sunscreen products out there,” she said. “I put that on my face every morning.”


Drunk Elephant F-Balm Electrolyte Waterfacial Mask, $52

Drunk Elephant F-Balm Electrolyte Waterfacial Mask

“I put Drunk Elephant’s Electrolyte Water Facial Mask on and it helps hydrate, restore and strengthen your skin overnight,” she said. “My dry skin always feels so glowy the next morning.”


Playa Every Day Shampoo, $54

Playa Every Day Shampoo

“I love Playa’s Every Day Shampoo because it’s a cruelty-free, natural brand, which I like to seek out,” she said. “I love haircare and it feels great when I use it.”

She also enjoys the conditioner, which you can purchase in a limited edition miniature kit for $20.


OUAI Wave Spray, $26

OUAI Wave Spray

“I’m always looking for a low-maintenance beauty routine and OUAI’s Wave Spray gives a fun texture to my hair,” she said. “I spray my hair when it’s damp and scrunch it in on some days.”


Gisou Honey-Infused Hair Oil, $87

Gisou Honey-Infused Hair Oil

“Gisou’s Honey-Infused Hair Oil feels luxurious and lovely to apply and always makes my hair feel softer,” she said. “I run it through the ends of my hair and it helps with overall health and shine.”

For a more affordable option, Gisou has a miniature hair oil available for $25.


Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Dark Spot Serum, $79

Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Dark Spot Serum

“I usually add Cadualie’s Vinoperfect Serum to my skincare routine on most days,” she said. “It helps correct my complexion, adds to overall glow and feels great on the skin.”


Dr. Barbara Sturm Face Cream for Women, $68

Dr. Barbara Sturm Face Cream for Women

“I was recently sent Dr. Barbara’s Sturm’s moisturizer and it’s super lightweight for summer,” she said. “It’s gentle on my skin, makes me look awake and has anti-aging ingredients in there, too.”


Saie Mascara 101 Lengthening and Lifting, $24

Saie Mascara 101 Lengthening and Lifting

“The Saie Mascara is another great and clean beauty brand that’s super easy to apply,” she said.


Laura Mercier ‘Amethyst’ Caviar Stick Eye Shadow, $29

Laura Mercier 'Amethyst’ Caviar Stick Eye Shadow

“I’ll run Laura Mercier’s Caviar Eye Stick over the top of my lash line for an eyeliner look,” she said. “It’s nice because it smudges out, so it elevates my look when I’m going out.”


Gucci Rouge de Beauté Brilliant Glow & Care Shine Lipstick, $42

Gucci Rouge de Beauté Brilliant Glow & Care Shine Lipstick

“Gucci’s ‘Call It A Day’ Lipstick gives you a natural lip color,” she said. “It’s not intense and enhances your natural lip color.”


Check out more ‘Influencer Picks‘ roundups here.