NFL

First chance to see how Saquon Barkley’s knee looks on football field

Saquon Barkley gave serious thought Monday to how much he should run, cut and jump on the football field.

Keenly aware that his first time moving around in front of adoring fans and observant media since undergoing ACL surgery in October would draw scrutiny to his surgically repaired right knee, the Giants star trusted his instincts. So, at his annual football camp at West Essex High School in North Caldwell, N.J., Barkley ran from one drill station to another, threw passes and shuffled his feet to defend quick-cutting youngsters in one-on-one competitions.

Will he be cleared to be more active when the Giants open training camp July 27?

“I don’t know,” a shrugging and smiling Barkley said. “We’ll see.”

Barkley’s recovery is on track with expert medical timelines, sources told The Post, even though the Pro Bowl running back won’t commit to being ready for the regular-season opener on Sept. 12. That coyness could be Giants coach Joe Judge’s New England Patriots-learned orders not to reveal too much on injury progress and timetables after missing 14 games last season.

Saquon Barkley work with campers in New Jersey on July 19, 2021.
Saquon Barkley work with campers in New Jersey on July 19, 2021. Charles Wenzelberg/New York Post

“I guess that’s what the theme of the summer is going to be: When I’ll be back,” Barkley said. “No, I don’t have an answer, to be honest. Not trying to build something up. It’s a fun process, but it’s a tough process at the same time. I’ll continue to listen to my body, listen to the trainers, listen to the coaches and take it day-by-day.”

Reading too much into Barkley’s activity surrounded by about 200 first- through eighth-graders is foolish. But he showed no signs of physical restrictions, as should be the case after months of rehabilitation to strengthen the ACL as well as a damaged MCL and meniscus.

“I’m a big kid at heart,” Barkley said. “We were talking to see how much I could do and I said, ‘I’m just going to go with the flow. Probably my kid at heart is going to take over and just have fun.’ And it means a lot. I’m happy these kids came out … and I want to make sure to leave a lasting impression.”

Barkley was a non-participant in spring OTAs and minicamp and said he has not yet discussed with Judge what his workload will look like early in training camp. It would be stunning to see Barkley in any of the three preseason games given that the Giants protected their $31 million investment against unnecessary contact long before his torn ACL. Rehabbing players, including Barkley, can report to camp Thursday, and it is expected he will be eased into practices.

“[The knee] feels pretty good,” Barkley said. “Trying to get 1 percent better each day and getting ready for reporting to camp.”

Reporting is different than participating.

“My expectation this summer is to continue to be a leader, continue to be supportive and whatever I’m able to do and whatever I’m told to do,” Barkley said. “Eventually, get back to playing the sport I love. Kind of have to play it by ear. Rehab is never a straight line.”

Barkley doesn’t run in straight lines, either. He slashes, spins, hurdles and makes other video-game-like moves that require trust in his knee.

“Whenever I’m able to get out there, make sure I’m 110 percent not just for my safety, health and well-being,” Barkley said, “but so I can go out there at a high level and show the world who Saquon is.”

Did anyone forget? He has averaged 114.9 yards per game from scrimmage with 23 touchdowns in 31 career games.

“If anything does happen again, it does. That’s my mindset,” Barkley said. “People ask me, ‘Am I worried about this?’ I just go out there and play the sport that I love, still treat myself like a pro and do the right thing for my body.”

Saquon Barkley work with campers in New Jersey on July 19, 2021.
Saquon Barkley work with campers in New Jersey on July 19, 2021. Charles Wenzelberg/New York Post

For one afternoon, the decision was to re-immerse himself in normalcy.

“I get a boost of energy and a boost of confidence to see the impact I still have on people,” Barkley said. “That goes a long way. Definitely needed and definitely thankful.”