NFL

Russell Wilson says things got ‘interesting’ after viral Seahawks trade comments

Russell Wilson is singing a different tune.

Following rumblings of a rumored trade request this offseason — when his agent slipped a list of other teams he’d like to play for — Wilson says he couldn’t be happier in Seattle.

The eight-time Pro Bowler appeared on “The Dan Patrick Show” via phone Wednesday and was asked about previous comments he made on the show in February, when he said he was unsure as to whether or not he was on the trading block.

“The rest of the day got interesting,” Wilson said Wednesday, laughing, about the time after his comments made glaring headlines that led to rumors of a possible breakup with Seattle.

Wilson said it only took the Seahawks “a couple hours” to call him after his comments went viral. In June, he denied ever requesting a trade out of Seattle.

Russell Wilson Seahawks NFL
Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson Getty Images

“I think more than anything else, we just had a dialogue conversation and I think it was definitely blown out of proportion in terms of the moment and what it became, which was a little unfortunate,” Wilson said, before explaining his main focus in Seattle.

“But I think more than anything else, you know what I care about? I care about winning, you know, and that’s what I wanna do. So I just put my cleats on everyday — that’s always been my focus, that’s always been my goal, is to win it all and just to continue to do that and try to do everything we can.”

The 32-year-old quarterback made it clear the offseason drama is in the past, and said his relationship with Seahawks coach Pete Carroll is “stronger” after the two had a “heart to heart” conversation.

“I think me and Pete have gotten closer,” Wilson said. “Pete and I have always had a great bond but I think we got to have a great heart to heart. He’s got goals, I’ve got goals and we want to do great things. To actually really dive into those and really talk about those missions, those goals, it was fun. I think me and coach Carroll’s relationship is stronger than ever and I think that’s the best part about it and my teammates.”

Carroll clearly didn’t want Wilson to leave. NFL Network’s Ian Rapoport reported in March that the 69-year-old head coach nixed a potential Wilson trade to the Bears.

Russell Wilson Seahawks Pete Carroll
Pete Carroll (l.) and Russell Wilson (r.) Getty Images

When asked if he really thought he’d be traded in the offseason, Wilson said the plan has always been to play in Seattle.

“I think anytime in sports there’s a potential of being traded. I think there’s always a real opportunity of that. But I think I’ve always wanted to be in Seattle,” he said. “I’ve always loved being there and it’s the place I’ve always wanted to play, so it’s been great.”

Wilson’s comments were hashed up when Patrick told Wilson he looked “miserable” at the Super Bowl in February (two days before his initial trade comments), which saw Tom Brady’s Buccaneers beat Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs 31-9.

“Listen, I think that anytime you’re not playing in [the Super Bowl], you want to be playing in that game, which I think is why I’ve been fortunate enough to play in it twice and win one of them (in 2013) and you want to get back and do everything you can to get back,” he continued.

Wilson said the Seahawks have had a “great offseason” and are focused on getting back to the Super Bowl.

“We’re excited about the team that we have and where we’re headed, so we got a chance,” he said.