Tennis

Novak Djokovic defeats Matteo Berrettini for historic Wimbledon title

Novak Djokovic took a giant step toward GOAT status Sunday on the grass at Wimbledon.

The 34-year-old Serbian tennis machine dispatched seventh-seeded Italian Matteo Berrettini in a tightly contested four-setter, 6-7, 6-4, 6-4, 6-3 to equal Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal with 20 major championships and set up what could be a history-making U.S. Open.

Djokovic now has swept the first three majors of 2021 and will enter Flushing Meadows with a chance to win the first men’s Grand Slam since Rod Laver in 1969.

“It means none of us three will stop,” Djokovic said during the on-court ceremony when asked about tying Federer and Nadal. “I have to pay a great tribute to Rafa and Roger. They are legends of our sport — the two most important players I’ve ever faced in my career. They are the reason where I am today. They’ve helped me realize what I had to do to get better mentally, physically and tactically. It’s been an incredible journey that’s not stopping here.”

Asked about completing the Grand Slam — winning all four majors in the same year — Djokovic laughed.

“I could definitely envision that happening, I’m hoping. … I’m in a great form,” he said. “Let’s keep it going.”

Djokovic said he is wavering on competing in the Olympics after learning of new COVID-related restrictions, which should set him up as even more formidable for the Open.

Federer, the classy Swiss Maestro, tweeted soon after match point: “Congrats Novak on your 20th major. I’m proud to have the opportunity to play in a special era of tennis champions. Wonderful performance, well done!”

If he can conquer Flushing Meadows, Djokovic, already regarded as the sports’ best defender with spectacular court coverage, would be all alone with 21 majors. He would smash any notion he isn’t the best ever, even if he is not as exquisite or beloved by the masses as Federer and Nadal.

Novak Djokovic Wimbledon
Novak Djokovic reacts after winning the Wimbledon title on July 11, 2021. PA Images via Getty Images

His coach, Goran Ivanisevic, feels he’s already there, with winning the upcoming Open being the clincher.

“Five, six, seven years ago we were talking about Federer, only about Federer,’’ Ivanisevic said. “Now you have Nadal and him competing who is going to be the best ever. For me, Novak is the best ever. He’s writing history. He’s going to do it in U.S. Open. I strongly believe he’s going to do it. He’s going to win all four in one year. Then I think story’s over.’’

Djokovic came close to agreeing with his coach, but fell short.

“I consider myself best and I believe that I am the best, otherwise I wouldn’t be talking confidently about winning slams and making history,’’ Djokovic said. “But whether I’m the greatest of all time or not, I leave that debate to other people. I am extremely honored to definitely be part of the conversation.’’

He’s not the most popular. The Wimbledon crowd increasingly chanted “Ma-tt-eo” as the match raged on, pulling for the 6-foot-5, rifle-serving right-hander who had never made a slam-event final.

With the All England Club chants reaching a crescendo midway through the third set as Djokovic fell behind love-40 on his serve, the Serbian waved on the Centre Court noise with his racket and then rallied for five straight points to hold.

After winning match point, Djokovic rolled onto his back and then climbed into the stands to visit his team with the sport’s leaderboard at 20-20-20.

As he made his way to the locker room with the silver trophy, he greeted the royal family, chatted with the Duke of Kent and asked Kate Middletown, the princess of Cambridge, “How’s your tennis?’’

“The more you win, the more confident you are,’’ Djokovic said. “It’s all connected. I feel like in the last couple of years for me age is just a number. I don’t feel that I’m old. You adapt to your phases you go through in your career. But I feel like I’m probably the most complete that I’ve been as a player right now in my entire career.’’

That’s scary for his Open foes. Neither Federer nor Nadal ever marched into the Open with three majors already in the bag as Djokovic will. In fact, no men’s player had copped all three entering the Open since Laver’s accomplishment.

Novak Djokovic Wimbledon 2021
Novak Djokovic hits a backhand against Matteo Berrettini during the Wimbledon final on July 11, 2021. PA Images via Getty Images

The Open will begin Aug. 30 with the men’s final Sept. 12 before a full-capacity crowd. During last year’s pandemic Open, Djokovic was disqualified in the fourth round for accidentally hitting a lineswoman in the throat with a ball.

Last fall, Nadal routed Djokovic to tie Federer at 20 majors during the repositioned French Open. Djokovic responded in 2021 by winning the Australian Open, French and Wimbledon.

Berrettini’s last chance was foiled midway through the fourth set when it looked like the 25-year-old Italian would break Djokovic’s serve.

Trailing 15-30 on serve at 3-3, Djokovic chased down an impossible drop shot and flicked it in for a crosscourt winner. Djokovic pointed his index finger to the crowd, which serenaded him for his trademark brilliant coverage.

“I’ve been very fortunate to be so strong in the decisive moments of the biggest tournaments,’’ Djokovic said. “I lost also quite a bit of finals of Grand Slams where I felt like I was close to winning, but then I folded. As Michael Jordan used to say, ‘I failed, I failed, I failed, and that’s why I succeeded in the end.’ ’’

Jordan and Djokovic, GOAT of their sports.