NBA

Emotional Reggie Jackson thanks Clippers ‘for saving me’

After a devastating 130-103 loss to the Phoenix Suns, an emotional Reggie Jackson took the stage to talk about the Clippers’ Conference Finals run. Tears streamed down his face as he spoke about how the season helped “save” his career.

“It was the most challenging year. The most fun year. Not sure when you’re gonna play. Ups and downs. Guys getting injured. Still finding my way in this locker room. First thing I told those guys was ‘thank you for saving me,'” Jackson said. “I appreciate it. I appreciate every guy in that locker room. I appreciate Paul [George] for getting on that phone last year and the end of the season as time went by in Detroit. I’m thankful for everything I’ve experienced here.”

Jackson spent most of 2019-20 as a member of the Pistons. As the trade deadline approached, Detroit looked for potential suitors for Jackson’s services. However, it had no luck. The Pistons eventually bought out his contract, making way for Jackson to sign with the Clippers.

The 31-year-old averaged 9.5 points and 3.2 assists per game to finish the season, with his numbers taking a turn for the worse in the 2020 playoffs. He saw his minutes shrink down to about 14 per game, and averaged just 4.9 points and less than an assist. It was enough for teams to shy away from signing Jackson in the offseason.

Reggie Jackson #1 of the LA Clippers drives to the basket
Reggie Jackson is hoping the Clippers want to bring him back again. Getty Images

The point guard would eventually return to Los Angeles on a minimum contract. He then averaged 17.8 points in the 2021 postseason. When things seemed bleak for the Clippers — especially after Kawhi Leonard’s injury — Jackson filled in as the sidekick to Paul George.

The 10-year vet is scheduled to be a free agent again this summer. Once again, He wants to return to LA and make it his permanent home.

“This city makes me feel at home. This organization welcoming me. My quirks, my strengths, my weaknesses,” Jackson said. “I’m not here today without this team. I’m not still playing without this team. I thank them for everything. In my heart this will forever be a special year.

“Like I said, it sucks that we didn’t win it, but I ride with those guys. Those guys rode with me all year and I ride with those guys. That’s what makes this one tougher. That makes this one extremely tough. To be the ones that, not getting the win, to be the ones at the end of the season, not the ones hoisting the trophy.”