NFL

Brandon Jacobs’ potential defensive comeback is drawing interest

Many people around the league raised their eyebrows when former running back Brandon Jacobs announced his intentions of coming back to the NFL as a defensive end.

Those eyebrows have seemingly turned to legit intrigue. Jacobs, the former Giants bruiser, said three teams have reached out to his agent regarding a potential comeback — though he won’t tell anyone which ones.

“I don’t want to throw names out there just yet because I was told not to, but it’ll be a shock,” Jacobs told Houma Today. “I think my ability as a defensive end, as an old man as they regard me, I think I can be one of the best in the league right now.”

Jacobs, 38, has taken notes from Jaguars’ tight end hopeful Tim Tebow on how to transition to a new position, as well as former Giants teammate Corey Webster, who was a quarterback in high school and transitioned to cornerback in college.

“I am really serious about coming back as a defensive end,” Jacobs tweeted in late May. “I can still run, I am strong and there’s no way Tim Tebow is a better athlete than I am. I just need a shot, that’s it! If I can’t cut it I’ll take it like a man. Just give me one chance that’s all!”

Defensive end is not an entirely new position for Jacobs. He played a handful of snaps on the defensive side of the ball in high school, but decided to stick at running back through college. Jacobs has been retired since 2013, but he thinks he could be the perfect fit at his new position.

“I think my ability as a defensive end, as an old man as they regard me, I think I can be one of the best in the league right now,” Jacobs said last week.

Brandon Jacobs stiff-arms William Moore of the Falcons during a 2012 playoff game.
Brandon Jacobs stiff-arms William Moore of the Falcons during a 2012 playoff game. Getty Images

Jacobs spent six seasons with the Giants and won two Super Bowls in New York, but left to join the San Francisco 49ers for a season before rejoining the team in 2013. The running back, known for his bulldozing style of play, is the Giants’ franchise leader in rushing touchdowns with 60. He is also the fourth-leading rusher in terms of yards with 5,087.

A return to New York would certainly be an interesting development. He could mentor Saquon Barkley — and, if he proves to be of NFL-caliber on the opposite side of the ball, help out the pass rush. It will be interesting to see if his former team was one of the mystery clubs to reach out.