US News

‘Hostage’ Dubai princess says she is free to travel after vacation pics leak

The Dubai princess who claimed that she was being held against her will now insists that she can “travel where I want” — her first official statement since she alleged that she was being held captive in a barricaded villa.

Sheikha Latifa bint Mohammed Al Maktoum, 35, a daughter of the ruler of Dubai, addressed new photographs that emerged of her on a European vacation in a statement released through her lawyers to Reuters.

“I recently visited 3 European countries on holiday with my friend. I asked her to post a few photos online to prove to campaigners that I can travel where I want,” the statement read, referring to the Free Latifa group that has lobbied for her release.

“I hope now that I can live my life in peace without further media scrutiny. And I thank everyone for their kind wishes.”

This picture taken in Dubai on June 21, 2021, shows the Gulf emirate’s Princess Sheikha Latifa in Madrid, Spain. AFP via Getty Images
Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, the father of Sheikha Latifa, is believed to have around 30 children with different women. Warren Little/Getty Images

The image, which showed her at an airport in Spain, was one of the few times she has been photographed since a failed attempt three years ago to escape the control of her father, Sheikh Mohammed, by boarding a yacht to sail the Indian Ocean.

The statement or the circumstances under which it was issued could not be independently verified, Reuters reported.

The United Arab Emirates has faced pressure to prove that she’s alive following a video message aired by the BBC in which she said she was being held hostage in a villa.

Sheikha Latifa is seen with friends while on vacation in Spain. via REUTERS
Sheikha Latifa claimed she was being held hostage in videos from earlier in 2021. AP
Sheikha Latifa, daughter of the ruler of Dubai, is seen at the Adolfo Suarez Madrid-Barajas Airport terminal in Madrid, Spain. @SHINNYBRYN via REUTERS

“I’m a hostage … I am worried about my safety and my life,” said Latifa, thought to be one of around 30 children Dubai’s ruler has with numerous women.

The UAE embassy in London said in February the family and medical professionals were caring for the princess at home and that she would return to “public life at the appropriate time.”

With Post wires