NFL

Russell Wilson and Ciara weren’t always this perfect

It wasn’t always love, sex and magic for Ciara and Russell Wilson

A GQ feature on Russell Wilson and Ciara is filled with loving quotes about each other. The star quarterback and singer have the perfect marriage on paper and the loving praises to back it up.

It’s all a little sickening, honestly.

The story did, however, touch on their somewhat tumultuous beginnings, with plenty of drama started from Ciara’s ex-fiancé, Future.

“I don’t think anybody made it hard,” the Seahawks’ eight-time Pro Bowl quarterback said of the rapper. “I think it was easy for us. I think it was about us. It wasn’t about anything else. It was about how we were going to love, and for me it was easy. It was easy to love. It’s easy to love C – every day I get to love her and take care of her and our kids is the greatest gift I have. So I cherish that every day.”

However, there were Post headlines like — “Ciara: My ex might kill Russell Wilson” — from 2016 that just how fraught with complications the situation was.

Wilson, 32, and Ciara, 35, met in 2015 when Ciara and Future, were in the midst of a bitter custody battle for their then-1-year-old son, also named Future. The 37-year-old rapper plastered social media with his overt contempt for Ciara and Wilson’s relationship and went so far as to threaten Wilson, according to a $15 million defamation lawsuit filed in 2016.

The A-list couple tied the knot in 2016 and have a 3-year-old daughter, Sienna Princess, and an infant son, Win Harrison, who was born in July of 2020. They also co-parent 6-year-old Future Zahir.

Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson and singer Ciara
Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson and singer Ciara FilmMagic

“When I got to meet Future, he was young,” Wilson said of his stepson. “And the reality was that for me it was a blessing and an opportunity to really hopefully be there for him every day and try to care for him in a way that was important for me, that I always wanted someone to do for me.

“Like my dad did for me. And so I think the greatest thing that I’ve ever learned in life is probably in that relationship with Future, because the reality of being a stepparent is that biologically they’re not necessarily yours, but the reality is that you have to love them as if they are. They’re your own blood in a way. You get to love them that way. And I think every kid deserves that and needs that and yearns for that.”

Wilson and Ciara have both enjoyed high degrees of success in their respective careers. Wilson was a multi-sport athlete who was drafted by the Orioles of Major League Baseball in 2007 and the Seahawks in 2012. The Wisconsin product has advanced to two Super Bowls and has one Super Bowl ring over nine NFL seasons, while Ciara has sold more than 20 million records since she began her career.

“I think it was Thomas Edison, maybe, who talked about 10,000 light bulbs,” Wilson said of their success. “That’s how many light bulbs it took to get to the right light bulb, you know? When you think about all that, how many times does it take to get to the right special moment, to get to that perfect place? If it was so easy to get to perfection, everybody would do it. That’s why you aspire to make the perfect light bulb.”

In spite of their extremely demanding schedules, which require a staff of up to 10 people, the devout Christian family — the couple famously abstained from sex before their 2016 wedding — puts an emphasis on prayer and spending as much time as they can together.

“On an average day, we’re around each other pretty much the whole day,” Ciara said. “We have some fun rules that we created. What is it, like 10 days that we don’t wanna push past, babe? Ten days when we travel? We laugh about it because I’m like, ‘Babe, how many days?’”

“We’re just grateful that we get to spend time together every day,” Wilson said. “Every morning we wake up together it’s a blessing, and we get to smile from ear to ear and know that ‘You know what? Let’s go. Let’s go do this.’

“God is the center of it all for us and that’s a foundation for us. I think as we get to do everything together, business, life, kids, you know, parenthood, all that stuff, in every one of those categories the center of it is God and our faith.”

Wilson had previously been married to his high school sweetheart, Ashton Meem, whom he divorced in 2014. Ciara said Wilson’s fatherly instincts have helped the couple grow even closer.

“From day one we’ve been living life for us,” she said. “Russ — I mean, he did talk about, you know, how he feels and this passion from a father’s perspective, but what’s always been beautiful about Russ is just to see him from day one, excitingly jumping in and changing diapers. He’s obviously really beautiful to me in every way, but the father in him is by far one of the things that makes him the most sexy to me. Hot. To me it’s hot.

“I feel like, if I could look back in a crystal ball when I was a little girl and I looked at the idea of my family and what it would be for me, it’s exactly this.”