NFL

Cameron Brate on grabbing Tom Brady’s Lombardi Trophy boat heave : ‘Best catch of my life’

It was one of the more impressive passes of Tom Brady’s 21-year NFL career.

During the Buccaneers’ Super Bowl boat parade in Tampa, the 43-year-old was caught on camera tossing the Lombardi Trophy from one boat to another. Luckily, Tampa Bay tight end Cameron Brate caught the trophy before it plunged into the water.

Brate spoke about the moment to the Tampa Bay Times, saying it was the “best catch of my life.”

“If I had dropped that? I think I would’ve had to retire,” Brate said. “That was amazing. He pointed it at me. We talked about it earlier. It was a great throw. I mean, what do you expect from Tom Brady. A great throw.”

The trophy remained out of the water, but wide receiver Chris Godwin’s phone wasn’t so lucky. Fellow receiver Scotty Miller dropped his phone in the water, and Godwin appealed to Verizon for a new one on his Instagram.

Brate had three receptions for 26 yards in Super Bowl 2021, but arguably none were as big as this one.

Brady and the Bucs appeared to have a hell of a time during the boat parade. Another video captured the Super Bowl MVP-winning quarterback getting back onto main land, where he could barely stand straight and needed someone to help him walk.