US News

ICU nurse’s home burns down while she was at work treating COVID-19 patients

An Oklahoma ICU nurse has been left homeless for the holidays after her house burned down while she was at work treating COVID-19 patients.

Tina Irwin was working a 12-hour shift at Mercy Hospital in Oklahoma City when her neighbor called to tell her that her home was on fire, according to KOCO News 5.

Three of the single mother’s four children were at home when the fire started, the outlet reported.

“I got ahold of my daughter … the terrifying scream. Never heard a scream like this,” Irwin told KOCO 5. 

“The flames were … I couldn’t believe. I’m a single mom and just walking up and everything gone.”

Irwin was able to recover some keepsakes, including photographs and her daughter’s graduation cap.

Amid the recovered items was also the firefighter movie “Ladder 49,” which Irwin said was ironic.

Thankfully, Irwin’s son was able to lead his sisters and their pets to safety and no one in the family sustained any injuries.

The cause of the fire is under investigation.

Meanwhile, community members and well-wishers have donated nearly $20,000 to the family on a GoFundMe page.

“They will need the basic necessities for the next couple of weeks, but if we could bless her family financially, any amount would help while they pick up the pieces, especially during this holiday season,” the fundraising plea reads.

In a Facebook post, Irwin thanked her neighbors for coming to her aide, and said she is trying to stay positive.

“I am receiving so many texts and posts with much needed words of encouragement and offers to help. I want each and every one of you to know how much this means to our family…  I woke up this morning praying this was just a nightmare but when I opened my eyes it became surreal. I immediately realized baby steps was all I can do. We are safe, warm, together and food to eat, we are off to a good start,” the post reads.

Irwin has been working 12-hour days at the hospital since the start of the pandemic.