NFL

Giants’ new assistant Dave DeGuglielmo has unusual backstory

Dave DeGuglielmo is now with the Giants.

Using his own history as a guide, it likely will not be a long stay as offensive line coach.

“You read the stat line or you read the resume, it looks like there’s a lot of bouncing around,’’ DeGuglielmo said Tuesday, his first public comments since he replaced Marc Colombo, who was fired two weeks ago by head coach Joe Judge. “And I agree with that. Believe me, my wife wouldn’t like me bouncing around this much and I wouldn’t like it as much.’’

This is a unique situation, replacing an assistant coach well into a season. It is not as unique for DeGuglielmo – this is the third time he stepped in when an offensive line coach got the boot. The 52-year old has been with an NFL team for 16 of the last 17 years – he was not in the league in 2013 – but has never stuck at any one stop longer than the five years (2004-2008) he spent with Tom Coughlin and the Giants. After that, it was three years with the Dolphins, one with the Jets, two with the Patriots (there’s the Judge connection), and one apiece with the Chargers, Dolphins, Colts and Dolphins (he said he turned down a contract offer to stay in Miami for the 2020 season).

This lines up with a reputation for being a top-notch offensive line teacher and motivator possessing a personality that wears out its welcome before long.

Dave DeGuglielmo
Charles Wenzelberg/New York Post

“It’s not ideal for me either, trust me,’’ DeGuglielmo said. “When you look at it I still keep getting hired, so I must have some value to somebody for some reason. Each situation is different and there are different circumstances. Some are under my control, some are not. I wish I could stay somewhere for 15 years. But I don’t do the hiring.’’

Judge, with a strong recommendation from offensive coordinator Jason Garrett – they worked together with the Cowboys – brought in Colombo but the partnership lasted only 10 games. Judge was not happy with the development of the young offensive linemen – rookie first round pick Andrew Thomas stands out here — and began to take a more hands-on approach in practice. Judge wanted to see more of a rotation during games and started the process of hiring DeGuglielmo in as an offensive consultant, which Colombo viewed as a threat to his role with the line. Harsh words ensued and Colombo was dismissed.

DeGuglielmo came aboard and engaged in a crash-course to acquaint himself with the players under his direction.

“I think this line is growing,’’ he said. “I don’t have the same concerns about rotating guys in as other people might have. I think we have some players who are quality players who are sitting on the bench. I believe what coach Judge believes in and that’s trying to get guys experience.’’

As for Thomas, DeGuglielmo said “I think he is doing a good job of trying to work on the problems he had early in the year.’’

Arriving so late, DeGuglielmo said, was “the equivalent of a plumber called to a different company to do a plumbing job. Generally speaking this is what I do.’’ He said he must adjust to the Giants’ system and terminology, rather than install his own stuff.

“It’s like taking a job in Spain and I don’t know Spanish,’’ he said. “Well, I still know how to do my job, I just don’t know the language of it, that’s all.’’

An early analysis: DeGuglielmo wants to improve how the linemen work double-team blocks.

“We’ve got to focus on how we’re gonna fit it and how we’re gonna finish those guys,’’ he said. “Those are the types of things that I can get done in the six-week period. We’re not gonna reinvent the wheel.’’


The Giants lost the services of outside linebacker Kyler Fackrell or at least the next three games. Fackrell was forced out of the 19-17 victory over the Bengals with a calf issue, and on Tuesday he was placed on injured reserve. In his first season with the Giants, Fackrell has three sacks and one interception return for a touchdown. Fackrell is the third starting outside linebacker to go on IR.


DB Montre Hartage and kicker/punter Ryan Santoso were waived. TE Kaden Smith, OT Matt Peart and WR/KR Dante Pettis were activated off the reserve/COVID-19 list, in time to practice on Wednesday.


The Giants are also bringing in quarterback Joe Webb for a visit. Webb, who also played wide receiver in the NFL, was on the Lions practice squad earlier this season.