NFL

Texans’ Will Fuller, Bradley Roby suspended for same PEDs

Two Houston Texans have been suspended for six games for violating the NFL’s policy on performance-enhancing substances.

Receiver Will Fuller and cornerback Bradley Roby were both suspended Monday for the same banned supplements they used while working with a medical professional not connected to the team, according to the Houston Chronicle. The suspension includes the last five games of this season as well as the first game of the 2021 season.

Fuller, 26, announced the suspension on his Instagram account. He apologized to the fans and the Texans organization.

“Earlier this year, I sought treatment from a medical professional who prescribed medication that he believed to be permitted under the NFL’s drug policy,” Fuller wrote. “As it turns out, my trust in this professional was misplaced because this medication was NOT a permitted substance under the NFL Policy on Performance Enhancing Substances.

“As a result of this mistake, I have been suspended for six games for taking this prohibited medication. I want to sincerely apologize to the Texans organization and all of my fans for this mistake. I am looking forward to putting this all behind me and returning better than ever in 2021.”

Texans
Will Fuller and Bradley RobyAP (2)

The 28-year-old Roby released a statement to the NFL Network.

“I apologize to my family, my teammates, the Houston Texans organization and the fans,” Roby said. “A few months ago I unknowingly used a product that was contaminated with a banned substance by the NFL. I recognize that it is my job to know, and be responsible for, everything I put in my body. I will be suspended for 6 games ending my season. I will take the necessary steps in the future to prevent this from ever happening again. I look forward to rejoining my teammates next season in our goal to bring a championship to Houston.”

Fuller this season has career highs in receptions (53), receiving yards (879) and touchdowns (eight). Roby has played in all 11 games for the Texans with 37 tackles, an interception and a fumble recovery.