MLB

Nick Markakis surprisingly rejoins Braves amid coronavirus chaos

Nick Markakis is back in for the 2020 season.

The 36-year-old initially opted out for the Atlanta Braves’ 60-game campaign over coronavirus concerns, but had a change of heart after watching the team open the season with a 2-3 record against the Mets and the Rays.

Markakis’ decision comes as the Marlins have been forced to pause their season amid a team-wide coronavirus outbreak.

“I’d like to come back,” Markakis said told reporters Wednesday. “Sitting at home, watching these guys compete the last couple of days and all the risks that they’re taking going out there. Deep down in that pit in my stomach, I felt like I needed to be out there.”

Markakis was one of the MLB’s earliest opt-outs of the season and expressed unease over playing without fans. His decision came after a conversation with teammate Freddie Freeman, who had tested positive for the virus. A call with GM Alex Anthopoulos opened the door for his return, which comes with the blessing of his family.

His return will be a welcome addition to the Atlanta lineup: Markakis posted a .292 batting average with a .362 OBP during the past two seasons while striking out just 139 times in 1,037 at bats. Braves hitters currently lead the majors with 64 strikeouts in five games.

“I had the opportunity to be welcomed back, and here I am,” Markakis said. “I’m going to do my best to get back as quick as I can and help these guys out.

“I bailed out on them, and when I see them I will apologize to them and hopefully be a part of them.”

The Braves will face the Mets in a four-game series beginning Friday.