NFL

Patrick Mahomes lived with Brittany Matthews’ dad after rookie year

Before Patrick Mahomes agreed to a monstrous $503 million contract with the Kansas City Chiefs, the 24-year-old quarterback was living the life of an average millennial.

Discussing his anything-but-ordinary career in GQ’s August cover story, Mahomes revealed he and longtime girlfriend Brittany Matthews lived in the guest room of her father’s house following his 2017 rookie year to save money. The couple has since purchased a property of their own.

“I have really nothing but a computer in here,” Mahomes said of his new abode at the time.

Mahomes hasn’t missed a step despite the coronavirus pandemic, abiding by a set schedule that includes minimal video games, a daily golf tee time and the occasional Peloton ride.

“I’m so damn competitive that I kill myself,” Mahomes said. “I see the leaderboard, and I see that, like, Brian from North Carolina is catching me, and I’m like: ‘There’s no way.'”

Patrick Mahomes and Brittany Matthews
Getty Images for Verizon

It’s not all work and no play for Mahomes, however. Over the past few weeks, Matthews, a certified personal trainer, has regularly shared photos from their boating adventures in the Ozarks.

Together for eight years, Matthews and Mahomes have celebrated numerous milestones together over the past year alone, ranging from his first Super Bowl win to last week’s historic signing.

“Let me tell y’all about my best friend, he earned that ish💕❣️ #Iloveyou,” Matthews posted to Instagram.