US News

Man desperate for kidney after donor changes mind over coronavirus

A New Jersey man with kidney failure is praying for a miracle after a donor had a change of heart amid coronavirus concerns, according to a report.

“Come through here and help me out here,” Thomas Minardi of Franklin Lakes said, according to WPVI-TV. “That’s my prayer. I say it every night.”

The married father of three said he has only about 7 percent kidney function and will die shortly if another donor isn’t found.

“I worked hard my entire life. I never get tired, have lots of energy. I could do the work of three men, but now, by 10:30, I’m out of gas,” said Minardi, 59, who owns Mama Minardi Cookies.

Things were looking up earlier this year when doctors found a match and scheduled surgery for right after Easter – but it was put on hold when the pandemic struck.

“I thought I could last another month or two,” Minardi said. “I’ll do what I can. … When you have a little hope there, you’re holding onto it.”

The surgery was rescheduled for early July, but in yet another blow to Minardi, the donor backed out because because of the uncertainty during the outbreak.

“I had to get this catheter put in ASAP so I can start some home dialysis,” he said. “Can’t get to much lower than 7 percentage. That’s not a lot of percentage.”

He said he is now waiting, “hoping someone will see this and come through with a kidney for me so I can go full speed ahead again.”

Potential donors may contact Kathleen Murdock at Hackensack Meridian Health at 551-996-4453 or Sara-Marie Castellvi at Saint Barnabas Medical Center at 973-322-2143.