US News

George Floyd’s brother urges protesters ‘not to tear up your town’

Amid violent protests that have convulsed communities across the US, George Floyd’s younger brother is pleading with demonstrators “not to tear up your town,” according to a report.

“[S]ometimes I get angry, I want to bust some heads, too,” Terrence Floyd told ABC News. “I wanna … just go crazy. But I’m here. My brother wasn’t about that. My brother was about peace. You’ll hear a lot of people say he was a gentle giant.”

George Floyd, 46, died while being pinned down by since-fired Minneapolis Police Officer Derek Chauvin on May 25, sparking outrage and massive protests throughout the country.

The cop has been charged with third-degree murder and second-degree manslaughter. Three other officers involved in Floyd’s detention also were fired, but have not yet been arrested or charged.

Chauvin’s first court appearance, which had been scheduled for Monday, has been postponed to June 8, according to WSB-TV. Court records cited no specific reason for the one-week delay.

“Don’t tear up your town, all of this is not necessary because if his own family and blood is not doing it, then why are you?” Terrence Floyd told ABC News.

“If his own family and blood are trying to deal with it and be positive about it, and go another route to seek justice, then why are you out here tearing up your community?” he continued.

“Because when you’re finished and turn around and want to go buy something, you done tore it up. So now you messed up your own living arrangements. So just relax. Justice will be served,” he added.

Terrence said his brother was known for his “positivity” and “motivation.”

“That is how he should be remembered,” he told the network. “Do something positive. Stop making excuses. And that’s what I feel is going on: They’re using this as an excuse to be stupid.”

He added that he wants to see Chauvin and the three other ex-cops “get punished to the full extent for what they did to my brother.”

“Because when I saw the videos, not only was the dude on his neck … not only that, you got the other three officers behind the camera, behind the car on him. So he can’t move,” Terrence said.

Meanwhile, another brother of George Floyd described his conversation with President Trump as “so fast.”

“He didn’t give me an opportunity to even speak,” Philonise Floyd told MSNBC’s Al Sharpton, CNN reported. “It was hard. I was trying to talk to him, but he just kept, like, pushing me off, like ‘I don’t want to hear what you’re talking about.’

“And I just told him, I want justice. I said that I couldn’t believe that they committed a modern-day lynching in broad daylight,” he said.

“I asked Vice President Biden — I never had to beg a man before — but I asked him, could he please, please get justice for my brother,” Philonise Floyd said.

“I need it. I do not want to see him on a shirt just like the other guys. Nobody deserved that. Black folk don’t deserve that. We’re all dying,” he added. “Black lives matter.”

The president said Friday he’d spoken to Floyd’s family but didn’t describe details of the conversation.