Lifestyle

Boy with cerebral palsy and autism completes marathon on walker

Tobias Weller walked so that others with neurological disorders may walk, too.

The 9-year-old from Sheffield, northern England, who requires a mobility device to move, finished a full 26.2-mile marathon-length relay while traversing up and down the street where he lives. His socially distanced community cheered him on along the sidelines as he crossed the finish line on Sunday.

His brave effort has raised $107,000 so far.

Weller made it his mission to complete a marathon using just his walker after he heard the story of British World War II veteran Captain Tom Moore, who raised $40 million for the UK’s National Health Service after completing a charity walk on his 100th birthday.

“I heard about Captain Tom and I thought, ‘Why don’t I use my walker to try to complete a marathon by walking up and down my street every day?’ ” said Weller in a video statement on his fund-raiser web page, adding that it would be a “ginormous challenge.”

Tobias Weller
AP

Weller, who also has autism, started his race 70 days ago, and cleared just 50 meters (164 feet) per day in the beginning, according to his mother Ruth Garbutt. Gradually, he worked his way up to 750 meters (2,460 feet) daily.

“I’m bursting with pride for all he’s achieved and how hard he’s worked during the marathon,” she told Sky News. “He couldn’t propel the walker at the start of the marathon, and now he can, he can push it on the flat, and he’s proved today he can push it uphill as well.”

The money he raised will be split between the Sheffield Children’s Hospital and his school, called Paces, where Weller receives an education alongside other kids with neurological conditions.

Head teacher at Paces, Ruth Liu, also told Sky News, “It’s absolutely amazing. And it’s down to his real hard work and determination that he’s been able to achieve what he’s done today.”

Of the impressive amount of money Weller raised, the boy said, “It makes me feel really happy. I’m chuffed to bits to raise loads of money. Other children who aren’t as lucky as me can benefit from the money that’s been raised.”

The humble marathoner said he got something out of it, too.

“Every bit of it has been totally awesome,” he said after the event. “I love it when my neighbors clap and cheer for me. I’m getting stronger and stronger every day. It’s such a good feeling.”