Politics

President Trump says ‘I don’t use insulin. Should I be?’

President Trump asked aloud during a Rose Garden event Tuesday whether he should be taking insulin, which is used to treat diabetes.

Trump made the unprompted musing while announcing a new federal-private initiative to cap monthly insulin costs at $35 a month — a roughly 66 percent reduction in costs.

“I don’t use insulin. Should I be? Huh? I never thought about it, but I know a lot of people are very badly affected,” Trump said at the event.

A reporter asked Trump a short time later if there was a medical reason why someone who doesn’t have diabetes would take insulin.

“Let’s get these highly paid executives up here to give the answer,” Trump replied, ultimately asking Surgeon General Jerome Adams for an explanation.

“Your body, Mr. President, actually makes insulin endogenously and people such as you and I, we make our own insulin. So yes we do utilize insulin, but we make it ourselves,” Adams said, indirectly saying there was no reason for Trump to be taking the drug.

“Ah!” Trump said.

Trump blamed the current costs of insulin on Obamacare and former Vice President Joe Biden, the presumptive Democratic presidential candidate.

Earlier in the event, Trump recounted the reasons insulin is essential to people suffering from diabetes.

“If you don’t take insulin, I just wrote this down, you go blind, stroke, amputation, kidney failure and other things. So we’re getting it out,” he said.

Trump added: “I hope the seniors are going to remember it, because Biden was the one who put us into the jam because they didn’t know what they were doing. They were incompetent.”