Politics

Trump says Joe Biden could have been ‘falsely accused’ by Tara Reade

WASHINGTON — President Trump has called for Joe Biden to address sexual assault allegations from Tara Reade, but speculated he may have been falsely accused.

“I don’t know anything about it. I think he should respond,” Trump told reporters when asked about the charges on Thursday afternoon at the White House.

“It could be false accusations. I know all about false accusations,” he continued. “I’ve been falsely charged numerous times, and there is such a thing.”

Biden, 77, will break his silence over charges he assaulted Reade, a former Senate staffer, in 1993 in an interview with MSNBC’s “Morning Joe” on Friday morning.

His campaign has faced mounting pressure to respond with new evidence bolstering his accuser’s claims emerging this month.

The president went on to speak at length about the 2018 sexual assault allegations against Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh, calling it an “absolute disgrace.”

“There’s an outstanding man. He was falsely charged. What happened with him was an absolute disgrace to our country,” he said.

“I can’t speak for Biden. I can only say I think he should respond,” he added.