Sports

World champion darts player misses tournament due to faulty WiFi

A darts player in Great Britain busted on his attempt for corks during the coronavirus pandemic due to a faulty WiFi hookup.

That counts as double bull – that’s a darts term – for two-time world champion Gary Anderson, who had to withdraw from a PDC Home Tour lockdown event because he was unable to connect to the internet from his home in Somerset, England.

“I was up for it, but when we did tests of my WiFi, it’s just not reliable enough,” Anderson told The Sun newspaper in the U.K. “It doesn’t surprise me. I struggle to pay bills online in my house. It’s really frustrating.

The 49-year-old Scot skipped most of last year’s Premier League dart tournaments with back and elbow injury, but he was slated to return as one of 128 entrants in Friday’s at-home tournament necessitated by the COVID-19 shutdown.

“I did want to take part. It would have been something different to try and win,” Anderson said. “It’s unbelievable. Two years on the trot, I’ve missed the opening few months.

“The most important thing is to be ready when the lockdown is over. It’s the same for us all.”