Entertainment

Taylor Swift fans call Kanye West a liar after video of 2016 call emerges

The Kanye West-Taylor Swift drama never ends.

A 2016 phone call between the pair that rocked the pop world, igniting a feud as to whether the rapper had gotten the singer’s permission to include a controversial lyric about her in one of his tunes, resurfaced Saturday on Twitter.

The phone call commotion first ignited when Swift claimed West never told her he planned to rap the line, “I made that bitch famous” – a reference to the moment he stormed the stage during Swift’s acceptance speech at MTV’s 2009 Video Music Awards.

West’s wife, reality star Kim Kardashian, later shared a heavily edited video clip of a call between the musicians, which seemed to support her husband and inspired backlash against Swift, whom Kardashian branded a “snake.”

A #CancelTaylorSwift campaign quickly swelled on Twitter, and many attributed it to Swift’s brief hiatus from the spotlight.

The new video of the call tells a different tale, and had many on Twitter branding West as a liar.

The latest clip appears to depict West explaining to Swift he planned to rap “a very controversial line at the beginning of the song about you.

“I don’t think it’s mean,” he adds. “It says, uh… and the funny thing, when I first played it and my wife heard it, she was like, ‘Huh? What, that’s too crazy,’ and then when Ninja from Die Atwoord heard it, he was like, ‘Oh my god, this is the craziest s**t, this is why I love Kanye…’ and now, it’s like my wife’s favorite f–king line… I just wanted to give you some premise of that.”

Then he drops the hammer: “To all my Southside n–as that know me best / I feel like Taylor Swift might owe me sex.”

Swift laughed: “That’s not mean.”

But the pop star made it clear she wasn’t willing to rubber stamp the mention.

“I need to think about it,” Swift tells him. “When you hear something for the first time you need to think about it, because it is absolutely crazy…”

Then the clip cuts off.

Swift’s fans have used the latest version to claim victory in the decade-long fight.

The hashtag #KanyeWestIsOverParty was trending Saturday on Twitter, along with #KimKardashianIsOverParty.