Metro

City park chess players still making moves despite coronavirus

New York’s iconic park chess players are still making moves despite coronavirus health concerns, players told The Post Saturday.

“I have hand sanitizer in my bag and whatnot, and if my guest feels uncomfortable touching the pieces, I offer them hand sanitizer. After I’m done for the whole day, I clean my hands, put my mask back on, and boogie on home,” said Nah-Shon Thomas, 65, who reported seeing a dip in paid challengers at Washington Square Park amid the pandemic.

Union Square chess veteran John Hill, 59, said business was down “90, 95 percent” as New Yorkers practiced social distancing.

“People are staying home, people are being more careful,” he said. “I wash every day. I had the gloves out and everything, I had a mask, but I didn’t want to be too standoffish,” he said. “You don’t want to be too scary if someone comes by, dressed in gloves and a mask, you got the hand sanitizer on the table.”

1 of 5
John Hill chess hand sanitizer coronavirus
John Hill places a small bottle of hand sanitizer on the table in case players want to use it.Rashid Umar Abbasi
nyc chess players coronavirus
Nah-Shon Thomas, 65 (right), plays with a client today at Washington Square Park.Rashid Umar Abbasi
Advertisement
nyc chess coronavirus
Another chess vendor at Union Square Park placed disinfecting wipes on the table for players.Rashid Umar Abbasi
Advertisement

Rival Carl Neblett, 45, told The Post that he was losing hundreds of dollars per week as would-be chess challengers stayed away.

“It’s brutal!” Neblett said. “It is hurting my business, but I don’t want to dwell on that.”

The chess champions hoped to continue going to their usual park spots despite the looming city lockdown, which is set to take effect Sunday at 8 p.m.

“I’m going to stay out here,” claimed Washington Square Park regular Sarfaraz Ahmed, 43. “I sanitize my pieces every day. I wipe them with those wet tissues. I do them at home, and then I bring them around. It is what it is.”

“How long are you going to be in prison in your own house? I’ll take my chances!”