John Crudele

John Crudele

Business

Optimum/Altice made me pay for cable boxes that were stolen

Dear John: You are my last resort. 

I am trying to get a refund from Optimum/Altice. I have attached paperwork regarding all of my efforts. 

My daughter and I are on the account together. While she was on her way to Optimum to return cable boxes, which were on the front seat of her car, someone broke in and stole them. She called the police and got the reports. 

Optimum/Altice said she had to pay for the stolen boxes until the police reports were reviewed and then she would be reimbursed. The amount of $556 was put on my charge card. 

The police reports have been submitted and I have been to two Optimum/Altice locations and made phone calls to get the reimbursement. 

No one can help me. Thank you so much for your help. L.R.  

Dear L.R.: Let me use this as an opportunity to get something off my chest.

If you write to me for any reason, provide me with a phone number and an email address. Because when I go to the trouble of trying to fix a problem, it is very annoying if the company involved and I can’t reach you.

I contacted Optimum/Altice One and your money has now been refunded.

But that was only after the company had trouble getting in touch with you, and it and I had to go back and forth a number of times.