NFL

Andy Reid’s dream Super Bowl 2020 celebration: Trophy wife, cheeseburger

Chiefs coach Andy Reid won the Kansas City Chiefs their first Lombardi Trophy in 50 years on Sunday, winning Super Bowl 2020 over the 49ers, but it apparently wasn’t the best “trophy” of his night.

“I didn’t really sleep last night. But I didn’t spent it with the trophy — well, I did. I spent it with my trophy wife. How’s that?” the 61-year-old coach said of his wife of 38 years, Tammy, Monday morning, drawing laughter and applause.

It was an eventful night overall for Reid, who captured his first Super Bowl title as head coach Sunday. The Chiefs made a fourth-quarter comeback to stun the 49ers, 31-20, behind an incredible performance from quarterback Patrick Mahomes.

Mahomes, who was crowned MVP, shared his future plans during postgame coverage, saying the famed, “I’m going to Disneyland.” And while appearing on NFL Network following the victory, Reid shared his.

“I’m going to go get the biggest cheeseburger you’ve ever seen,” Reid said as he wrapped his arm around Mahomes. “I’ll find the biggest one. It might be a double.”

It was ironic that Reid’s postgame plans included a delectable meal, considering several people on social media were questioning if he was the same guy from an infamous 2002 diabetes commercial.

Thankfully the real actor, Wilford Brimley, set the record straight and identified himself on Twitter and did not mind being confused for the Super Bowl-winning coach.

“I am the ‘diabeetus guy,” Brimley wrote.