NFL

Peyton Manning has mixed emotions over Eli Manning’s retirement

Peyton Manning has some scouting to do.

The Colts and Broncos great said he was “sad” to see brother Eli Manning retire because of just how much he enjoyed watching him play.

“I’m happy for Eli, because I know he’s at peace and he put a lot of time and thought into this decision,” Peyton told the Broncos website. “But I am sad, because I won’t get to see him play anymore. And after my dad (Archie) and Dan Marino, Eli really was my favorite player.

“So I have to find a new one. But for really 19 years going back to his three years at Ole Miss, 16 years in the NFL, I have enjoyed watching him play, watching him compete, watching him grow into a man. It’s been a heck of a run.”

Eli, 39, officially announced his retirement on Wednesday after 16 seasons and two Super Bowl championships with the Giants. Eli is holding a press conference on Friday with a who’s who of Giants royalty expected to attend. Peyton has been out of the league four seasons now, and has been grateful for the additional Giants games he has been able to attend in that time.

“I really have enjoyed watching him play in person a lot more,” Manning said. “I’ve been averaging about three games a season during the years that I was retired. I certainly got to keep up with his games more. And once again, I wasn’t talking to him every day during the week, but could ask him about the game plan and what the Dolphins are doing on defense. But to go see him play and take my kids down to the locker room and have the chance for them to see their uncle, that was a real thrill. So I’ll miss that.”

For more on Eli’s retirement, listen to the latest episode of the “Blue Rush” podcast: