NBA

Knicks are expecting hero’s welcome for Carmelo Anthony

Several current Knicks fully expect the loudest ovation to start the new decade at the Garden to go to an opposing player.

Carmelo Anthony, the team’s marquee star for much of the 2010s before a 2017 trade to Oklahoma City, will return to New York on Wednesday night for the second time since his departure and the first since signing with Portland earlier this season.

“I think he should get a standing ovation,” veteran forward and fellow Brooklyn native Taj Gibson said after practice Tuesday in Westchester. “He did a lot for the city. Came back, did well for the team. Great all-around player, great all-around person…Great dude man.”

Anthony no longer is one of the NBA’s great players, but the 10-time All-Star has reemerged as a solid third scoring option for the Blazers alongside Damian Lillard and CJ McCollum with a scoring average of 15.7 points in 31.5 minutes per game over 19 appearances.

“I think he’s played really well,” interim Knicks coach Mike Miller said. “He’s been an outstanding NBA player. He’s had a tremendous career. When I was working for (G-League) Westchester, he was here I think my first couple years and was really a talent, obviously. He’s had a great career.”

No current Knicks have played an NBA game alongside Anthony, although Frank Ntilikina was drafted in June 2017 – three months before Melo was traded to Oklahoma City in September. On Dec. 16 of that year, Anthony received a thunderous ovation after the organization played a video tribute for him during pregame introductions at the Garden. He heard boos whenever he touched the ball during the game, a 15-point Knicks victory.

“I expect for him to be received great…I’m assuming really great,” Knicks forward Marcus Morris said of Wednesday’s game. “He’s done a lot for this league. He had a great career for every team he played for, especially New York.”

Morris categorizes his relationship with the 35-year-old Anthony as “just as competitors,” but the Knicks’ current leading scorer often has said that he patterned his game coming into the league after Anthony.

“I’ve always looked up to him. So, obviously, he knows that,” said Morris, who is averaging a nine-year career high 18.3 points per game. “He’s one of those guys who is very cool on and off the court. I’ve enjoyed his competitive nature. I enjoy going up against him. I’m glad he’s back in the league.

“Growing up, hell yeah, I wanted to be just like him. In college, I used to watch a lot of film. Coming into the league, go back and watch my first interviews, I was comparing myself to Carmelo. He was a great player. He did a lot for this team. I was happy to be a part of his career and compete against him.”

The Knicks (9-24) were blown out, 115-87, in Portland on Dec. 10, with Lillard netting 31 points and Anthony contributing 16 in 25 minutes.

Julius Randle has averaged 32.7 points over the past three games, and the Knicks have won two in a row for the second time this season — and five of 11 overall since Miller took over for fired David Fizdale — entering Carmelo’s latest visit.

“I’m sure it’ll be a great environment. A lot of love for Melo and it should be, so I’m excited to see it,” Randle said. “But really, honestly, I’m just excited to get back on the court. A few days off seems like a long time when you’re playing good basketball and you’re having fun and winning. You want to keep experiencing that feeling, so I’m excited.”

For more on the Knicks, listen to the latest episode of the “Big Apple Buckets” podcast: