Lifestyle

Mets star Brandon Nimmo: New York was ‘sensory overload’ at first

Earlier this month, Mets star Brandon Nimmo played Santa Claus at the team’s annual Kids Holiday Party at Citi Field, where he helped give out gifts to local schoolchildren. And the 26-year-old outfielder says he felt at home doing it. But Nimmo, who grew up in Wyoming, says it took a while to get used to New York. “You could fit my hometown in Citi Field, I’m pretty sure,” says Nimmo, now living in Long Island City with his wife, Chelsea. He tells The Post about his first trip to the Big Apple (when he was 18) and how he spends his off days and the offseason in the city.

After I got drafted by the Mets, I came here with my dad, and they put us up in Times Square. We couldn’t believe the number of people there. It was all kind of weird to me. There were guys doing tricks with the backflips and acrobatics and stuff, and guys that are just standing like statues. It was just sensory overload for me.

In Wyoming, you can literally see for about 40 miles. Then you come to New York City and you’re lucky if you can see 40 feet with all the buildings and everything.

I kept thinking, from a food perspective, “Gosh dang, where is an Olive Garden, where is a Texas Roadhouse?” — looking for the chain restaurants. That’s what I was used to. Now, looking back on all that, I’m like, “What was I thinking?” There’s so many great places to go.

I’m still kind of that steak-and-potatoes guy, and so I do like to go to Quality Meats. They have this peanut-butter jalapeño bacon for the appetizer. And if I’m not watching what I’m eating, that stuff is pretty dynamite. And you don’t get to stick around in New York very long without having a solid steak at a steakhouse.

I like to go to Peter Luger’s. It’s a tough place to get into. You gotta know the right people. That’s just classic.

And, it is a little bit of a chain, but to be honest, the atmosphere is amazing at Del Frisco’s down by the Radio City Music Hall. I love it at Christmastime. It’s all done up in lights, and the windows are two stories high. It’s a very beautiful view, especially during Christmastime.

If we go to brunch, we normally go to a place in Long Island City called Jackson’s Eatery and Bar. They have this really amazing chicken and waffles. Also, Sweet Chick has the chicken and waffles that are pretty good.

We just like to explore. And there’s all kinds of events going on all around the city. The Chelsea area is really beautiful and a lot different. It’s kind of funny how each little part of New York has its own vibe.