NFL

Wayne Gallman’s disappearing playing time is a Giants mystery

The exception to the rule of the Giants making move after move to field a younger team wears No. 22.

It seems a new defensive back debuts every week. First-year offensive linemen and tight ends are getting injury-created opportunities. And yet the Giants’ most recent depth chart change at running back was to elevate 28-year-old midseason addition and pending free agent Buck Allen above 25-year-old former draft pick Wayne Gallman.

Gallman is not hurt. He didn’t fumble his way into purgatory. So, is he as mystified as the outside world?

“Yes, I am,” Gallman told The Post. “I honestly couldn’t tell you. I don’t know.”

Pat Shurmur, who is coaching for the present with his job in jeopardy, recently explained his reasoning as wanting to get a more thorough evaluation of Allen, who had zero offensive snaps in his first five games with the team. He has 20 in the last three, including eight carries for 28 yards and a touchdown last week.

“Buck is my brother and he’s getting his chance,” Gallman said. “I can’t control him being ahead of me and he can’t control me being ahead of him. We support each other.”

Gallman remains the good soldier. He has not knocked on Shurmur’s door demanding an explanation as to how he slipped from 118 yards from scrimmage and a touchdown in Week 4 to a healthy scratch the past two games. That game, against this week’s opponent the Redskins, accounts for 55 percent of Gallman’s yardage this season.

Wayne Gallman
Wayne GallmanCorey Sipkin

“I’m not going to act out and not be myself,” Gallman said. “The team comes first. I’ve never been a person to ask why or anything because it’s really not going to change anything. I’ve always believed you earn playing time with what you do at practice. I let my play do my talking for me.”

After a strong rookie season in 2017, Gallman accepted his reality of limited touches behind the new face of the franchise. He quietly worked hard and delivered in the first of three games Saquon Barkley missed this season with a high ankle sprain.

Then Gallman suffered a concussion and missed one game. Rookie Jonathan Hilliman struggled when forced into the lineup, Allen was signed to fill a veteran gap and Gallman’s role gradually decreased from scarce to non-existent.

“I’m just focusing on everything ahead of me and letting things take place as they are,” Gallman said. “I feel like I did everything I could do. I had a good season the times I was able to contribute and help this team.”

One of four draft picks from former general manager Jerry Reese (2007-17) left on the active roster, Gallman has one year remaining at $735,000 on his rookie contract. The odd truth is he probably would be better suited spending his prime years elsewhere in a timeshare backfield, but Gallman isn’t going to force his way out.

“Those talks will happen after my contract, but I’m a competitor and a team-first guy,” Gallman said.

“I’m going to take my same approach to every offseason – to prepare and train like a starting back. Wherever I’m at, if it’s still here, I’ll be happily ready to go for training camp. Or if it’s somewhere else, I’ll take the same mindset — to be one of the best.”

For more on the Giants, listen to the latest episode of the “Blue Rush” podcast: