John Crudele

John Crudele

Business

A letter from one of our hearing aid giveaway winners

Readers: Here’s the story of the last of the seven people who received free hearing aids from Lively:

Dear John: I am a 64-year-old, three-time cancer survivor.

I am on Social Security, and it would be virtually impossible for me to spend that kind of money on hearing aids. I have tried hearing amplifiers and they do help some, but they amplify everything and are not directional.

I have hereditary hearing loss, as did my father. I know my family has been repeating what they say to me for 20 years. It is frustrating, for sure.

Should Lively choose me, it would be a blessing indeed. It would be so wonderful to hear birds again and the true sound of my wife’s voice. Maybe even hear leaves under my feet.

Oh, and to hear and understand in a crowded room or eatery — wow!

Thank you for covering the issue so well. G.D.

Dear G.D.: I’d like to take a moment to thank Lively (listenlively.com) for accepting the challenge I made a few months ago.

When the company’s representative wrote to me and said Lively’s hearing aids were better and cheaper than others, I said “prove it” by giving some away.

Hopefully I’ll come up with more free ones in the future. So stay tuned if you need hearing aids, or know someone who does.