Politics

Clarence Thomas compares ‘modern-day liberal’ to a Klansman in new film

Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas has blasted Democrats, including former Senate Judiciary Committee and now-presidential candidate Joe Biden, over the sexual-misconduct allegations against the jurist during his 1991 confirmation hearings.

Thomas opens up about the process in a new documentary and claims the “biggest impediment” to his life and legal career was not the KKK but the “modern-day liberal.”

“I felt as though in my life I had been looking at the wrong people as the people who would be problematic toward me,” Thomas says in the film “Created Equal: Clarence Thomas in His Own Words,” according to ABC News.

“We were told that, ‘Oh, it’s gonna be the bigot in the pickup truck; it’s gonna be the Klansmen; it’s gonna be the rural sheriff.’ But it turned out that through all of that, ultimately the biggest impediment was the modern-day liberal.”

Thomas said Dems on the panel, headed by Biden, plotted against him “because they have one issue or because they have the power to caricature you.”

The film highlights Biden’s questioning of Anita Hill, a law professor who testified on Thomas’ alleged sexual harassment. Thomas has denied Hill’s allegations, which during the hearings he called a “high-tech lynching.”

“Do I have like stupid written on the back of my shirt? I mean, come on. We know what this is all about,” Thomas said in the film, alluding that the accusations were part of a sinister plot.

“People should just tell the truth: ‘This is the wrong black guy; he has to be destroyed.’ Just say it. Then now we’re at least honest with each other. The idea was to get rid of me. And then, after I was there, it was to undermine me.”

Thomas was confirmed in the Senate by a narrow 52–48 vote. The documentary is set to be released early in 2020.