Entertainment

Mystery LA subway singer identified as homeless Russian musician

The mystery woman who stunned Los Angeles subway passengers with her incredible voice has been identified as a Russian musician who became homeless after a run of rotten luck.

Emily Zamourka left thousands of people mesmerized when a video of her singing on what appears to be an empty platform in Koreatown was posted online by Los Angeles Police over the weekend and went viral.

The 52-year-old songstress moved to the US 24 years ago, and made ends meet by teaching violin and piano lessons — until she fell ill and couldn’t afford medical care, she said to local outlets.

“That’s when I became homeless. When I could not actually pay any of my bills and could not pay any more of my rent,” she told ABC7.

So the down-and-out musician began playing her violin on the street in downtown LA for cash, but the $10,000 instrument was stolen three years ago, Zamourka said.

“It was my income,” she told NBC Los Angeles. “It was my everything to me.”

Zamourka said she’s living on the streets and that “I have people that feel sorry for me, but I don’t want to be a burden to anybody.”

Though she’s not trained as a singer, Zamourka said she loves belting out opera in the subway.

“You know why I do it in the subway? Because it sounds so great,” she said.

She dreams of one day being able to work in music again.

“I will be so grateful to anyone who is trying to help me to get off the streets, and to have my own place, to have my instrument,” she said.