US News

Crazed fan planted fake bombs in bizarre attempt to meet Piers Morgan

A deranged Piers Morgan fan sparked a nail bomb scare in a major British city — in hopes of being interviewed by the former “America’s Got Talent” judge, according to reports.

Thanasis Joel, 27, was found with a letter to the UK journalist when he was busted for leaving three fake bombs in Manchester in May, according to The Sun.

“Hello Piers. By the time you get this letter, you will hear of me in the news for what I am about to do,” his letter reportedly read.

“I have been hearing voices on and off for a year telling me to kill people so I am doing this to see if the voices will go away,” he wrote, allegedly confessing to his plan to “make fake bombs.”

Police at the scene in Piccadilly Gardens in Manchester
Cavendish Press (Manchester) Ltd

“Long story – I want you to come and see me and do an interview with me for TV like you do in the USA,” he told the former CNN star who now hosts UK breakfast show “Good Morning Britain.”

“I don’t want money, I just want to tell my story. Don’t know where I will be. Find me. I will be in prison or mental hospital where I need to be.”

Joel was wearing a white T-shirt with the names of mass murderers written in black marker pen when he approached two cops to report he had “done something really bad” and planted bombs, prosecutors told Manchester Minshull Street Crown Court.

Piers Morgan
Piers MorganGetty Images

It sparked a major evacuation as army bomb disposal teams carried out a controlled explosion on at least one of the fake devices. The security operation cost local businesses more than $600,000 in lost business, according to the Manchester Evening News.

Joel pleaded guilty to placing an article with intent to cause fear, causing a public nuisance, having a bladed article and possession of a firearm. He faces up to seven years in jail.

His attorney, Carl Hargan, insisted the self-proclaimed mentally ill man’s “remorse is genuine,” according to the reports.

“He cannot believe what he has done and he cannot believe that is him,” Hargan told the court. “He appreciates the fear that must have been caused and he is struggling to deal with the impact and the fact that it was him who caused it.”