MLB

Yankees provide injury update on James Paxton’s glute issue

ARLINGTON, Texas — James Paxton underwent an MRI exam Saturday morning to reassure what the left-hander and the Yankees believed was not a serious problem with a glute muscle issue that led to Aaron Boone taking him out after one inning Friday night.

“We found out it was nerve irritation. I am on some pills to help calm it down,’’ said Paxton, who was Boone’s likely choice to start Game 1 of the ALDS on Friday against the Twins at Yankee Stadium until the glute issue surfaced while he was warming up Friday night and likely remains in line for that assignment.

Paxton, who had a string of 10 victories in 10 straight starts snapped Friday, doesn’t believe his work in front of Game 1 will change based on the brief outing.

“[Saturday] I am going to take it easy and let it calm down and I will get back to my routine [Sunday] and get ready to roll,’’ Paxton said before the Yankees’ 9-4 loss to the Rangers. “I am already built up with my pitch count and I will throw a bullpen.’’

Boone reiterated what he said Friday night.

“We think it is something minor. We feel like it is not going to alter anything for him moving forward,’’ Boone said before Saturday night’s game against the Rangers at Globe Life Park. “We feel like overall it is pretty good news.’’