NFL

Landon Collins lacks answers for sudden Giants skirmish with Jabrill Peppers

Landon Collins insisted he’s pleased to be a Redskin, even if his next win may not come until Thanksgiving. Money isn’t the only reason, either.

“I’m happy where I’m at honestly,” the former Giant said Sunday after his old team hammered his new one, 24-3, at MetLife Stadium. “I’m excited. I love these guys I’m around. It’s fun. I’m not stepping on any [egg]shells. I can be myself. These guys over here love me, respect me, look at me as a captain and a role model.”

When asked why he couldn’t be himself with the Giants, the three-time Pro Bowler responded: “I can’t answer that.”

He also wouldn’t answer in a group interview what happened after the game as he and Josh Norman got into a brief verbal skirmish with Jabrill Peppers, his replacement with the Giants.

Collins has made plenty of headlines since leaving the Giants for their NFC East rivals and a six-year, $84 million contract with $45 million in guaranteed money, which made him the highest-paid safety in league history. He told NJ.com that general manager Dave Gettleman never talked to him during the process and left the job to co-owners John Mara and Steve Tisch when he departed for Washington.

Collins described Gettleman as a “liar” who “lied to everybody” and said his animosity is geared toward him, not the Giants. In the summer, Collins was on NFL Network and said when the two teams meet, he would look for an excuse to run over Gettleman in pregame warm-ups. He was promptly warned by the league.

When asked if he spoke to Gettleman on Sunday, Collins said the GM wasn’t on the field and didn’t want to talk to him.

He didn’t have any such qualms when talking to reporters, admitting to frustration over Washington’s inept offense being unable to turn three turnovers into more than three points and taking solace in the defense’s improved performance after halftime, despite the 21-point differential on the scoreboard.

“I wouldn’t say disappointing,” he said. “I’m glad we didn’t get blown out.”

Collins was credited with nine tackles, but wasn’t much of a factor and was twice called for defensive holding. He’s still looking for his first interception or pass defensed this season.

“I did my job,” he said. “That’s all I can do.”

It has yet to lead to any victories.